Eliza Atkins Gleason Book Award

Previous Winners


2016                Dr. Cheryl Knott
                        Not Free, Not for All: Public Libraries in the Age of Jim Crow
                        University of Massachusetts Press, 2015

2013                Christine Pawley
                        Reading Places:  Literacy, Democracy, and the Public Library in Cold War America 
                        Amherst: University of Massachusetts Press, 2010

2010                David Allan, University of St. Andrews
                        A Nation of Readers: The Lending Library in Georgian England
                        London: British Library, 2008

2007                Carl Ostrowski
                        Books, Maps, and Politics: a Cultural History of the Library of Congress, 1783-1861
                        Amherst, MA: University of Massachusetts Press, 2004

2004                Louise Robbins
                        The Dismissal of Miss Ruth Brown: Civil Rights, Censorship, and the American Library
                        Norman: University of Oklahoma Press