Humphry/OCLC/Forest Press Award for International Librarianship

Nominations Sought For Humphry/OCLC/Forest Press Award for International Librarianship

Review ALA’s personal data notification (PDN) before proceeding.

The American Library Association is accepting nominations for the 2020 John Ames Humphry/OCLC/Forest Press Award for International Librarianship. The deadline for nominations is January 31, 2024.

The award consists of a prize of $1,000 and a certificate, which is presented at the International Librarians Reception during the ALA Annual Conference. The award is given to a librarian or person who has made significant contributions to international librarianship.

Created on the occasion of the retirement of John Humphry as Executive Director of Forest Press, publisher of the Dewey Decimal Classification, the award recognizes Humphry's far-ranging work to internationalize the English language editions of Dewey and to ensure that translations were adapted to meet the needs of other cultures and countries.

All nominations should include, as appropriate, personal history or curriculum vitae, with emphasis on achievements related to international librarianship; bibliography, critical reviews, articles, etc.; and letters seconding the nomination or other letters of commendation or appreciation.

Nominations should be sent to:

International Relations Office

American Library Association


Guidelines for the Award

Past Recipients

IRC Humphry/OCLC/Forest Press Award Subcommittee