IRC Africa Subcommittee

Purpose: To promote relations with libraries and librarians in the countries of Africa and to investigate matters related to these regions as referred by the International Relations Committee. The countries covered by the African Subcommittee are Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of Congo, Cote d'Ivoire, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mayotte, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Reunion, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, St. Helena, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

Number of members: up to seven
Terms of office: two years
Term limits: four years

ALA 2024 Annual Conference Program

Building Partnerships with Communities in Africa : Sister Cities 500 in 5 years
Sunday, June 30, 2024
1:00pm – 2:00pm Pacific
Location: San Diego Convention Center, Room 08


Janet Lee (Chair, 2023-2024)
Regis Univerisity Libraries

Full Committee Roster

General Information

Minutes and Reports
International Relations Committee (IRC)
International Relations Round Table (IRRT)
African Regional Library Associations
African Book Dealers and Publishers
Book Donation Programs
International Information Associations and Organizations
International Opportunities and Funding Sources
International Events
Library Discussion Groups and ListServs

Additional Links

Africa South of the Sahara - African Libraries and Archives Portal
ALA-International Relations Office

Back to IRC