IFC Privacy Subcommittee


The Intellectual Freedom Committee's Privacy Subcommittee monitors ongoing privacy developments in technology (in cooperation with Core: Leadership, Infrastructure, Futures), politics and legislation (in cooperation with the Committee on Legislation (COL)), as well as social and cultural trends that impact individual privacy and confidentiality, both in libraries and the wider world.   It is charged with identifying privacy needs and resources for librarians and library users; proposing action on resolutions, policies, and guidelines addressing privacy, confidentiality, and data security; developing educational, informational, and promotional projects addressing privacy, confidentiality, and data security issues; and collaborating with other member groups and organizations within and without ALA on matters within its charge.


Mr. Eric Gomez (Member, July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2025)
William Marden (Member, July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2025)
Deborah Caldwell-Stone (Primary Staff Liaison, June 25, 2002, to June 30, 2025)
Karen Gianni (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2025)
Betsy Gomez (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2025)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2024. Last retrieved on 02/23/2024. Members can log in and refresh the page to view full contact information for committee members.

Staff Liaison

Deborah Caldwell-Stone
Deputy Director
ALA Office for Intellectual Freedom
800) 545-2433, ext. 4224