ALA's Hours & Holiday Closures

The offices of the American Library Association are open from 8:30 A.M. to 4:30 P.M. CT, Monday – Friday and our Customer Service Center is open for calls from 10am – 2pm CT.

2023 Holiday Closures 

  • New Year's Day 2023, January 2, 2023
  • Martin Luther King Day, Monday, January 16, 2023
  • Presidents’ Day, Monday, February 20, 2023   
  • Memorial Day, Monday, May 29, 2023
  • Juneteenth, Monday, June 19. 2023 
  • Independence Day, Tuesday, July 4, 2023   
  • Labor Day,  Monday, September 4, 2023
  • Thanksgiving Day, Thursday, November 23, 2023   
  • Day after Thanksgiving, Friday, November 24, 2023
  • Christmas, Monday December 25, 2023*  
  • Christmas, Tuesday, December 26, 2023*
  • New Year's Day 2024, Monday, *January 1, 2024*

*If this holiday falls on Saturday, the headquarters' office is closed on Friday. If it falls on Sunday, the headquarters' office is closed the following Monday.

Weather Extreme Closures

Any of ALA 's office locations may close in response to local weather extremes.