Rural, Native, and Tribal Libraries of All Kinds Committee


To review issues and challenges facing rural, native and tribal libraries of all kinds; to collaborate with other ALA units addressing the needs of rural communities; and to serve as an advocate for and partner with libraries serving rural, tribal and native populations.


Kevin Strowder (Staff Liaison, October 28, 2021, to June 30, 2025)

Displaying active committee roster as of 10/04/2023. Last retrieved on 10/04/2023. Members can log in and refresh the page to view full contact information for committee members.


The Rural, Native and Tribal Libraries of All Kinds Committee shall consist of 15 members, including a chair to be appointed annually by the ALA President-elect:

  • 1 member from the American Indian Library Association, appointed by the AILA president
  • 1 member from PLA, appointed by the PLA presiding officer
  • 1 member from AASL, appointed by the AASL presiding officer
  • 1 member appointed by the chair of the Legislation Committee, Washington office
  • 1 member appointed by the ODLOS Advisory Committee Chair
  • 6 members at large to be selected by the ALA President-elect
  • 2 committee associates with two-year, staggered terms
  • 1 member appointed by ARSL presiding officer
  • 1 member appointed by ABOS presiding officer

Subcommitees and Task Forces


Staff Liaison

Amber Hayes

Communications and Outreach Program Officer
Office for Diversity, Literacy and Outreach Services