Resolutions Committee


To provide an advisory and channeling function for all resolutions presented for Council's consideration, reviewing all resolutions submitted to Council pursuant to the criteria established by Council.  

To advise the makers on how to bring their resolutions into compliance with the guidelines adopted by Council. All resolutions shall go to Council with a notation that the resolution has been processed through the committee.

To determine the policy or non-policy nature of all resolutions to be presented to Council and transmit the resolutions with the appropriate indication. To review all resolutions passed by Membership to determine those that are clearly policy matters and therefore should be forwarded to Council for action. Any challenge to the determination of the committee shall be voted on by councilors present at the meeting.


Mr. John Andrew Clexton (Chair, July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2024)
Tarida Anantachai (Member, July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2024)
Mr. John Andrew Clexton (Member, July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2024)
Mr. Alexander Cohen (Member, July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2025)
Jim DelRosso (Member, July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2025)
LeRoy Jason LaFleur (Member, July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2024)
Rodney E. Lippard (Member, July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2024)
Valeria E. Molteni (Member, July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2024)
Jean M. Myles (Member, July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2025)
Dr. Gbolahan Olasina (Member, July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2025)
Mrs. Lauren Nicole Tubbs, (She/They) (Member, July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2025)
Amber H. Williams (Member, July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2024)
Amy Spence Lappin (Executive Board Liaison, July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2024)
Mrs. Marsha P. Patrice Burgess (Primary Staff Liaison, November 5, 2018, to June 30, 2025)

Displaying active committee roster as of 10/01/2023. Last retrieved on 10/01/2023. Members can log in and refresh the page to view full contact information for committee members.


Information about the resolution process:
An online training series for resolution preparation is available at:
Proposed resolutions can be submitted to the Resolutions Committee at:
Questions, comments and/or feedback re: the resolution process can be sent to:


Below are the guidelines for preparation of resolutions for the ALA Council and Membership, as well as related documents (for example, resolution samples, the resolution e-Form, etc.). PLEASE NOTE that

  1. You can write a resolution for Council or for face-to-face or virtual membership meetings. Before the resolution can be brought before the ALA Council or the Membership for consideration, you must submit electronically both the Resolution e-Form and the proposed resolution to Rodney Lippard, the chair of the Resolutions Committee, at
  2. You will not receive a confirmation for your emailed resolution until you have also submitted your Resolution e-Form.
  3. You do not need to fill out a resolution e-Form for a memorial or tribute resolution, but you must supply a list of individuals and groups—and their contact information--to which the resolution should be sent.
  4. If you require assistance with this process, you can email Rodney Lippard at

    Guidelines and Forms

    Guidelines for Preparation of Resolutions for Council

    Guidelines for Preparation of Face-to-Face Membership Resolutions

    Guidelines for Preparation of Virtual Membership Resolutions

    Resolution eForm



    Sample of Resolution

    Sample of Completed ALA Resolutions e-Form

    Suggestions for a Tribute Resolution

    Suggestions for a Memorial Resolution



The Resolutions Committee consists of twelve (12) Members, which includes the chair.

Staff Liaison

Marsha P. Burgess