ALA Committee on Legislation


The ALA Council Committee on Legislation (COL) is charged with the responsibility for the association’s legislative agenda. Specifically, to:

  • Identify, for the Public Policy & Advocacy Office (formerly known as the Washington Office), the association’s strategic priorities.
  • Recommend, annually, based on consultation with the Public Policy & Advocacy Office, a legislative and public policy agenda.
  • Review and advise on, any policy statements and/or resolutions that have an impact on federal legislation, policy, or regulations.
  • Provide a forum within ALA to share information and legislative analysis of current and impending federal laws and regulations to keep ALA units apprised of current issues affecting libraries.
  • Be available to consult, collaborate and offer assistance to state and local library entities when federal legislation has implications at the state and local level.  



Sara Dallas (ALA Executive Board Representative, July 1, 2022, to July 1, 2024)
Mrs. Shauntee Burns-Simpson (Member, July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2025)
Ms. Deborah A. Doyle (Member, July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2025)
Dr. Ursula Gorham (Member, July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2025)
Katherine M. Lester (Member, July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2025)
Mr. Kenton L. Oliver, he/him/his (Member, July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2025)
Jana L. Stevenson (Member, July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2025)
Ms. Sherry Virginia Neal (Committee Associate, July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2025)
Ms. Lisa A. Pritchard (Liaison, November 9, 2023, to July 31, 2024)
Marleen Coleman (Primary Staff Liaison, July 18, 2022, to December 31, 2025)
Kevin Maher (Primary Staff Liaison, January 1, 2015, to January 1, 2025)
Chris Stewart (Staff Liaison, September 1, 2022, to September 1, 2025)
Mr. Gavin Baker (Staff, June 1, 2017, to June 1, 2025)
Rosalind Bradley (Staff, April 18, 2022, to June 30, 2025)
Shawnda Kay Hines (Staff, July 1, 2021, to June 30, 2025)
Alan Inouye (Staff, June 1, 2018, to September 1, 2025)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2024. Last retrieved on 03/03/2024. Members can log in and refresh the page to view full contact information for committee members.

Subcommitees and Task Forces

As provided by the ALA Policy Manual, the Committee on Legislation may form subcommittees or task forces to support and advise its work. For 2024-2025, these include the Copyright Subcommittee and the Museum and Library Services Act Reauthorization Task Force.

Related Units, Groups, and Initiatives

The Public Policy & Advocacy Office provides staff support to the Committee on Legislation. 

The Committee on Legislation coordinates with committees with related charges, including the Committee on Library Advocacy, Information Technology Policy Advisory Committee, and Intellectual Freedom Committee. The COL Chair appoints members to the Sustainability Committee and the IFC Privacy Committee

The Committee on Legislation participated in appointing the Policy Corps Advisory Group.