ALA Governance Meetings

Meeting information, date, and time are listed below. Meetings are open to all members, with the exception of closed executive sessions. Meeting documents are located via the following links: Council Documents and Executive Board and Budget Analysis Review Committee Documents.


 

ALA Councilor (Tune in Tuesday-Council Committee Chairs)

During this town hall style of event, you will learn how the ALA Council Committees integrates with Council business. Featuring, Joe Thompson, chair of the Committee on Legislation; Jim Neal, chair of the Committee on Organization; Aaron Dobbs, chair of the Resolutions Committee; Rhonda Gould, chair of the Council Orientation Committee; and Toni Negro, chair of the Policy Monitoring Committee. While this event is open to all, it will be especially useful to first time councilors.

Tuesday, December 14, 2021, 2:00-3:00 p.m. CT/ 3:00-4:00 p.m. ET

Register 

     

    ALA Councilor (Tune in Tuesday-Resolutions Workshop)

    TBA

    Tuesday, December 28, 2021, 2:00-3:00 p.m. CT/ 3:00-4:00 p.m. ET

    Register 

     

     

    Council Practice Session (Tune in Tuesday)

    All current Councilors are invited to participate in a Virtual Council practice session for the upcoming Council meetings.

    Tuesday, January 11, 2022, 1:00 p.m.-2:00 p.m. CT/ 2:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m. ET

    Register

     

    ALA Membership Information Session for Members, Councilors, and Executive Board

    Attend the Membership Information Session for an overview of what's been going on at ALA in the last year as well as a status report of the Association. You will receive reports from the President, President-Elect, Executive Director, Treasurer, and Endowment Trustees at this meeting. Councilors and Executive Board members are strongly encouraged to attend this session.

    Tuesday, January 18, 11:00 a.m.12:30 p.m. CT / 12:00–1:00 p.m. ET

    Register

     

    ALA Council Meetings

    All ALA members are welcome to attend and observe the governing body of ALA, the ALA Council. It delegates authority to the divisions of the Association to plan and carry out programs and activities in accordance with policy establish by ALA Council.

    Please note: Attendees will only need to register once for all three Council sessions. The ALA-APA Council and the ALA Executive Board Candidates Forum will also use the same registration and login information as the ALA Council Sessions.

    Register

    ALA/APA Council (Council Attendance Required)
    Wednesday, January 19, 2022
    2:00–2:30 p.m. CT / 3:00–3:30 p.m. ET

    Council I (Council Attendance Required)
    Wednesday, January 19, 2022
    2:30–5:00 p.m. CT / 3:30–6:00 p.m. ET

    Council II (Council Attendance Required)
    Thursday, January 20, 2022
    11:30am–2:30 p.m. CT / 12:30–3:30 p.m. ET

    ALA Executive Board Candidates Forum
    Thursday, January 20, 2022
    3:30–4:30 p.m. CT/ 4:30–5:30 p.m. ET

    Council III (Council Attendance Required)
    Monday, January 24, 2022
    2:30–5:00 p.m. CT / 3:30–6:00 p.m. ET

    Eligible Councilors will receive an email containing their voting credentials. After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar and an option to add the webinar to your calendar. If you are unable to attend the Council meeting, please email ALA Governance governance@ala.org of your absence.

    Submit your questions in advance of the Council meeting.

    Once they're available, here's where to find Council agendas and documents.

    Need a refresher on the features of the Zoom platform and how the Virtual Council Meeting is be conducted? See the Virtual Council Sessions Overview (PDF)

     

    ALA Executive Board Meetings

    Executive Board Meetings, other than closed sessions, are open to all ALA members. The best way to learn about the affairs of the Association is to observe one of these Board meetings.

    Meeting link


    ALA Executive Board Meeting I
    Tuesday, January 18, 2022
    3:30–5:00 p.m. CT / 4:30–6:00 p.m. ET
     
    ALA Executive Board Meeting II
    Tuesday, January 25, 2022
    3:00–5:00 p.m. CT / 4:00–6:00 p.m. ET
     
    ALA Executive Board Meeting III
    Wednesday, January 26, 2022
    11:30 a.m.–1:30 p.m. CT / 12:30–2:30 p.m. ET

     

    The ALA Executive Board meets virtually every third Tuesday of each month at 3pm CT. Click here for the 2021-2022 conference call schedule and meeting information. For questions, please e-mail governance@ala.org

     

    ALA Allied Professional Association Executive Board Meeting

    The ALA Allied Professional Association is a nonprofit organization for the purpose of promoting the mutual professional interests of librarians and other library workers. The ALA-APA is a companion organization to ALA, an educational association to promote library service and librarianship. ALA Executive Board and Council also serves as the ALA-APA Board of Directors and ALA-APA Council respectively. All ALA members are welcome to observe the ALA-APA governance meetings.

    Tuesday, January 18, 3:003:30 pm CT / 4:00–4:30 p.m. ET

    Meeting link

     

    Joint Budget Analysis & Review Committee (BARC)/Finance and Audit (F&A) Committee January Meeting

    BARC reviews the proposed ALA budget, as forwarded by the ALA executive board, in the context of the ALA strategic plan, annual priorities and budget assumptions; reviews the financial performance of the association and the budget impact of potential actions of ALA council; makes budget recommendations to the ALA executive board and reports to council regarding budget analysis and process. The Executive Board F&A Committee suggests measures to build the Association’s financial resources, provides the Executive Board with interpretation of financial data needed for administrative decisions; serves as liaison to the Endowment Trustees; oversees the audit review; reviews the treasurer’s report; reviews and interprets reports from the Endowment Trustees and BARC; reviews financial projections; considers other matters related to accounting standards, finances, and budget; makes recommendations to the Executive Board regarding the fiscal management of the Association; performs other general fiscal duties of the Executive Board as necessary.

    Tuesday, January 11, 2022, 3:00–6:00 p.m. CT / 4:00–7:00 p.m. ET

    Meeting Link
     

     

    Planning Budget Assembly/Division Leadership Meeting

    Representatives of divisions, committees, and round tables and elected Council representatives meet to review and discuss ALA budget presentations/reports given by the ALA Treasurer and the BARC chair to Council and to the Executive Board.  They provide feedback on the documents to assist in the planning process.

    Wednesday, January 19, 2022, 11:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m. CT / 12:00–2:00 p.m. ET

    Meeting Link