National School Library of the Year Award

Sponsored by Follett

Monetary Amount: $10,000

Deadline: January 1


The application is behind an AASL member wall.  You must log in (upper right-hand corner of page) and be a current AASL member to access the form.  Please email if you are having issues accessing the application. For questions regarding your membership please contact or call 1-800-545-2433 (option 1). 


Established in 1963, the award recognizes school libraries as a unique and essential part of their learning community. NSLY honors school libraries exemplifying implementation of AASL's National School Library Standards for Learners, School Librarians, and School Libraries.


The school librarian must be a personal member of AASL.


The following elements are the groundwork for an effective school library and must be present for consideration:

  1. The school library’s mission, goals, and objectives relate to the mission, goals, and objectives of the school’s and district’s long-range plan.

  2. The school library is continuously assessed and evaluated to ensure that it meets the needs of all members of the learning community.

  3. The school library is a dynamic learning environment that bridges the gap between equitable access and opportunities for all learners. 

  4. The library scheduling is thoughtfully designed to ensure learners have access to school library services, spaces, and resources at the point of need.

Application Process

Applicants must submit an electronic portfolio. The electronic portfolio must include:

  1. Description of the Community Served

  2. School Profile, Digital Profile, Staffing Profile, Expenditure Report, and Collection Report

  3. Keystones

  4. Evidence for how the school library demonstrates each indicator under the following Shared Foundations: Inquire, Include, Collaborate, Curate, Engage, Explore

  5. Letters of Endorsement

Download Rubric 

Download Copy of Application 

* Please note: This downloadable version is for informational purposes only. All applications must be submitted online, via the Apply Now button that will appear at the top of the page when the next award season opens in early September.


Allison Cline email icon
Deputy Executive Director

Year    Awardee(s)

2023     West Maple Elementary School, Bloomfield, Michigan

"Thank you AASL and Follett for supporting students as they learn and grow, by holding up school libraries as beacons for educational excellence, literacy, community, innovation, democratic values, and intellectual freedom. It is a privilege for West Maple School Library to be recognized as a model among a nation of school libraries that share a unified vision in serving ALL members of EVERY community to the best of our ability." Carrie Betts, School Librarian and Elementary School Library Coordinator for Birmingham Public Schools






2022     No recipient

2021    Calvert County Public Schools

2020    Mesquite Independent School District, Mesquite, Texas

2019    High School District 214, Arlington Heights, Il.

2018    Lewis High School, Springfield, Va.

2017    Baltimore County Public Schools, Md.

2016    Veterans Memorial Elementary School, Naples, Fla

2015    Blue Valley High School, Stilwell, Kansas

2014    Eaglecrest High School, Centennial, Colo.

2013    New Augusta South Elementary School, Ind.
2013    Pennsylvania Avenue School, N.J.
2013    Swan Valley High School, Mich.

2012    Hinsdale Township High School District 86
2012    South Texas Independent School District

2011    Pine Grove Middle School, N.Y.
2011    Henrico County Public Schools, Va.
2011    North East Independent School District, Texas

2010    Perry Meridian Middle School, Ind.
2010    New Canaan High School, Conn.

2009    Livonia Central School District, N.Y.
2009    Robert E. Clow Elementary School, Ill.
2009    Blue Valley North High School, Kan.

2008    Luella Elementary School, Ga.
2008    Simsbury High School, Conn.

2007    Norman Public Schools, Okla.
2007    Harpeth Hall, Tenn.
2007    North Elementary School, Ind.

2006    Hilliard City School District, Ohio
2006    Biblioteca Las Americas, Texas
2006    Kapolei High School, Hawaii

2005    William Floyd School District, N.Y.
2005    Downers Grove South High School, Ill.
2005    Henry Brader Elementary School, Del.

2004    Northside Independent School District, Texas
2004    Boston Arts Academy/Fenway High School, Mass.
2004    Lois Lenski Elementary School, Colo.

2003    Millard Public School District, Neb.
2003    Liberty Public School District, Mo.
2003    Cherry Creek High School, Colo.

2002   James River High School, Va.

2001    DeKalb County School Sysytem, Ga.
2001   Corbett Elementary School, Ariz.

2000    Irving Independent School District, Texas
2000    Londonderry School District #12, N.H.
2000    New Trier Township H.S., Ill.

1999    Lincoln Public Schools, Neb.

1998    Hunterdon Central Regional High School, N.J.

1997    Gwinnett County Public Schools, Ga
1997    Iowa City Community School District, Iowa
1997    Timothy Dwight Elementary School, Conn.

1996    Maine Township High School West, Ill.

1995    Southern Bluffs Elementary School, Wis.
1995    Smoky Hill H.S, Colo.

1994    Duneland School Corporation, Ind.
1994    Providence Senior High School, N.C.
1994    Lakeview Elementary School, Wis.

1993    Blue Valley School District USD 229, Kan.

1993    Indian Prairie School District 204, Ill.

1992    Fulton County School System, Ga.
1992    Manhattan/Ogden Unified School District 383, Kan.

1991    Irving Independent School District, Texas
1991    Beecher Road School, Conn.

1990    Greenboro Public Schools, N.C.
1990    Cherry Creek High School, Colo.

1989    Norman Public Schools, Okla.
1989    Middletown Enlarged City School District, N.Y.
1989    David A. Hickman High School, Mo.

1988    West Bloomfield Schools, Mich.
1988    Round Rock Independent School District, Texas

1987    Independent School District 47, Minn.
1987    Community Consolidated School District 62, Ill.
1987    Monterey Peninsula Unified School District, Calif. 

1986    District 108, Ill.

1985    Shoreham-Wading River School District, N.Y.

1984    Riverside-Brookfield Township High School, Ill.
1984    Richmond School System, Va.

1983    no award given

1982    Shaker Heights City School District, Ohio

1981    Blue Valley School District, Kan.

1980    Irvine Unified School District, Calif.

1979    Greenwich Public Schools, Conn.

1978    Cobb County Public Schools,Ga.

1977    Los Alamitos School District, Calif.

1976    Littleton Public Schools, Colo.

1975    Rochester City Schools, N.Y.

1974    Cedar Rapids Community Schools, Iowa

1973    Duneland Community Schools, Ind.

1972    Atlanta Public Schools, Ga.

1971    Leflore County Schools, Miss.

1970    Alhambra School Distract, Ariz.

1969    Iowa City Community Schools, Iowa

1968    San Ramon Valley School District, Calif.

1967    Cleveland Public Schools, Ohio

1966    Albuquerque Public Schools, N.M.

1965    Dade County Public Schools, Fla.

1964    Durham County Schools, N.C.

1963    Anne Arundel County Schools, Md.