AASL President's Crystal Apple

The Crystal Apple is given at the discretion of the AASL President to an individual or group who has had significant impact on school libraries and students.

Past Honorees

Year AASL President Honoree(s)
2019 Kathryn Roots Lewis Marina "Marney" Welmers
OverDrive Education
2018 Steven Yates Denine Toor
2017 Audrey Church Emily Sheketoff
2016 Leslie Preddy James Patterson
2015 Terri Grief Bob Sibert, Bound to Stay Bound Books
2014 Gail Dickinson Marlene Woo-Lun
2013 Susan Ballard Dollar General
2012 Carl Harvey Senator Jack Reed (R.I.)
2011 Nancy Everhart Dolly Parton and the Imagination Library
2010 Cassandra Barnett Ohio Governor Ted Strickland
2009 Ann M. Martin Target
2008 Sara Kelly Johns The Spokane Moms: Denette Hill, Lisa Layera-Brunkan, Susan McBurney
2007 Cyndi Phillip Scholastic Library Publishing
2006 J. Linda Williams First Lady Laura Bush
Gary Hartzell
2005 Dawn P. Vaughn Follett Library Resources
2004 Frances R. Roscello Bound to Stay Bound Books, Inc.
2003 Nancy P. Zimmerman     Rachel Hodges, former First Lady of South Carolina, and Scholastic, Inc.
2002 Helen Adams Senator Ralph Regula
2001 Harriet Selverstone 3M Library Systems
2000 Ellen Jay Betty Marcoux
1999 Sharon Coatney Delaine Eastin, State Superintendent of Schools, CA
1998 Ken Haycock Lillian Gerhardt, Retiring Editor, School Library Journal
1997 Barbara Stripling DeWitt Wallace-Reader's Digest Fund
1996 David Loertscher Elliot & Eleanor Goldstein, SIRS
Ann Carlson Weeks
1995 Jacqueline Mancall Dr. Judith M. Pitts (posthumously)
1994 E. Blanche Woolls Senator Paul Simon, IL
Congressman Jack Reed, RI
1993 Ruth Toor Charles Follett, Jr., Follett Software Company