Skip to: Content
Skip to: Section Navigation
Skip to: Site Navigation
Skip to: Search

Contact: Lois Ann Gregory-Wood

For Immediate Release
May 1, 2003

ALA councilors elected

Thirty-three members have been elected to the Council of the American Library Association (ALA) for three-year terms. The 2003-2006 Councilors-at-Large are:

Ismail Abdullahi

Elizabeth (Betty) Acerra

Rosie L. Albritton

Sheila B. Anderson

Hampton (Skip) Auld

Liz Bishoff

Francis J. Buckley, Jr.

Kate Corby

William J. Crowe

David L. Easterbrook

Hector Escobar, Jr.

Carolyn Giambra

Mario M. Gonzalez

Larry Hardesty

Rochelle Hartman

Janet Swan Hill

Marilyn L. Hinshaw

Dora T. Ho

Patricia M. Hogan

Ali Houissa

Ellen Johnson

Virginia B. (Ginny) Moore

Jo Ann Pinder

Molly Raphael

Larry Romans

Mark Rosenzweig

Loriene Roy

Gail A. Schlachter

Patricia H. (Pat) Smith

Jessamyn West

Kenneth A. Yamashita

Nancy P. Zimmerman

Ellen Slotoroff Zyroff

Seven other Councilors also have been elected for 2003-2006:

  • Carolyn A. Caywood, Intellectual Freedom Round Table (IFRT)
  • Alfred Kagan, Social Responsibilities Round Table (SRRT)
  • Terri G. Kirk, American Association of School Librarians (AASL)
  • Kathy Toon, Association for Library Services to Children (ALSC)
  • Donald Roalkvam, Association for Library Trustees and Advocates Division (ALTA)
  • Jordan Scepanski, Continuing Library Education Network and Exchange Round Table (CLENERT); Ethnic and Multicultural Information Exchange Round Table (EMIERT); Exhibits Round Table (ERT); Federal and Armed Forces Libraries Round Table (FAFLRT); Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgendered Round Table (GLBTRT); International Relations Round Table (IRRT); Library History Round Table (LHRT); Library Research Round Table (LRRT); Library Support Staff Interest Round Table (LSSIRT); Map and Geography Round Table (MAGERT); Staff Organizations Round Table (SORT); and Video Round Table (VRT)
  • Neal Wyatt, Reference and User Services Association (RUSA)

AASL, ALSC, ALTA and RUSA are divisions of the ALA.