Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers Committee Description

Type: Standing

Date of Establishment: 1980

Date of Completion: Continuing

Membership: 11 plus one administrative assistant, if requested by the chair, and one consultant from the staff of Booklist.


  • Current personal membership in YALSA
  • Experience in evaluating library materials, such as relevant course work, on the job materials evaluation experience, publishing reviews and/or relevant articles in respected publications, previous selection committee experience, etc.
  • Ability to attend both ALA's Midwinter Meeting and Annual Conference during your term of appointment on the committee.
  • Ability to work year-round in a virtual environment with tools including, Google Drive, Skype, webinar plat
  • Ability to dedicate a significant amount of time to seeking out and reading relevant titles.
  • Ability to comply with YALSA policies, including the Conflict of Interest, Ethical Behavior & Social Media policies, which are found in YALSA's Handbook
  • Good time management and organizational skills
  • High ethical standards
  • Previous service on a YALSA committee/jury/taskforce is preferred.

For information on the responsibilities of committee/jury/taskforce members, visit YALSA's Handbook.

Term of Office: 1 year, beginning Feb. 1 and ending Jan. 31 of the following year.  There is a possibility for reappointment for one additional year provided that the member's committee participation has been satisfactory and that he/she has submitted a volunteer form.  1 year, commencing February 1 and ending Jan. 31 one year later.  Committee members, including administrative assistants and chairs, are appointed by YALSA's President-Elect and serve a term of one year. Committee members may be selected to serve a concurrent, second one-year term based on the member's first year performance and his/her interest and availability in serving another year, for a total of a two-year maximum concurrent term length on the committee, provided that the member has submitted a volunteer form.

Function: To annually prepare an annotated list of recommended books appropriate for reluctant young adult readers.

Procedures: See " Recommended Books for the Reluctant Young Adult Reader Committee Policies and Procedures."

History: Until 1988, the name of this committee was "High Interest/Low Literacy Level Materials Evaluation Committee." The brochure with the annual list was first titled, "High-Interest Low Reading Level Booklist," and then "Recommended Books for the Reluctant Young Adult Reader." Since 1990, the brochure and list have been titled "Quick Picks." New policies and procedures were adopted by the YALSA Board, January 1993. A new name, "Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers," was adopted by the Board at the 1995 Annual Conference.