TechSource Webinar: Directions in Metadata with Karen Coyle

By Daniel A. Freeman |

We're happy to announce the next in our series of Webinars, Directions in Metadata with Karen Coyle.

Bibliographic data is in the midst of a major transition. With the emergence of the Semantic Web, the very purpose of this data is evolving from an entity meant for interpretation by humans to one meant for interpretation by machines.

Karen Coyle, digital library consultant and bibliographic data expert, will discuss the future of Metadata and its role in bibliographic data and the semantic web. With major transformations in the use and structure of data already occurring, Karen will discuss what these changes mean for libraries, and what librarians can do to prepare, adapt, and take advantage of new possibilities that emerge.

Topics will include:

  • Defining metadata
  • Bibliographic data and the semantic web
  • Future directions of library data


Attendees will be given the opportunity to participate through Q and A and discussion.

Please join us on Thursday, April 1st at 3pm Central (4pm Eastern, 1pm Pacific) for this exciting event!

Register Here:
https://www2.gotomeeting.com/register/692291003

Special Offer--Purchase Karen's two issue set of Library Technology Reports for the price of 1 at the ALA Store: http://www.alastore.ala.org/detail.aspx?ID=2909

About Karen Coyle

Karen Coyle is a librarian and a consultant in the area of digital libraries. She worked for over 20 years at the University of California in the California Digital Library, has served on library and information standards committees, and had written frequently on technical topics ranging from metadata development, technology management, system design, and on policy area such as copyright and privacy.

Sponsored by: