Publishing Staff Directory

Meet your colleagues in the Publishing unit! Contact information and who to direct your questions and ideas to are found below. 

The Publishing Department of the American Library Association provides all library employees a comprehensive, one-stop resource for print and digital materials dedicated to professional development, improving library services, and the promotion of libraries, literacy, and reading. All net revenues from subscriptions and product purchases are invested in the financial support of ALA’s goals and initiatives.

  Photo of Mary Mackay

Mary Mackay
Associate Executive Director
she/her/hers
mmackay@ala.org
ext. 1532

Ask me about:

  • General publishing and ALA Publishing Department questions
  • Interunit collaborations
  • Budgets and reports
  • External partnership opportunities with ALA Publishing

American Libraries

American Libraries, the magazine of the American Library Association, offers a suite of print and electronic publications, appearing 6 times per year in print as well as the twice-weekly e-newsletter AL Direct.; a monthly podcast, Dewey Decibel; the streaming webinar AL Live; and daily updates on AmericanLibraries.org and social media platforms.  For more than 100 years, American Libraries has kept readers informed in print and (increasingly) online, keeping library and information science and technology workers in touch with the profession’s most current concerns.

Sanhita SinhaRoy
Editor and Publisher
she/her/hers
ssinharoy@ala.org
ext. 4219

Ask me about:

  • Editorial content
  • Advertising
  • Print quality and production
  • Budgets and finances
  • Contracts
  • My three kiddos

Liaison to: CMO, Conference Services, Finance & Accounting, HR, HRDR, Membership, PLA, Rainbow Round Table, Retired Members Round Table

Amy Carlton
Senior Editor
she/her/hers
acarlton@ala.org
ext. 5105

Ask me about:

  • Americanlibraries.org
  • AL’s social media (Facebook, Twitter)
  • People announcements (obits, new jobs, promotions)

Liaison to: LITA, CS (for social media), Development, IT, PPAO, FMRT

Carrie Smith
Editorial/Advertising Associate
csmith@ala.org
ext. 4216
 

Ask me about:

  • LSC
  • Invoicing/billing
  • Back issue orders
  • Submissions
  • JobLIST
  • Advertising in AL
  • Ad specifications and materials
  • Informz
  • AL Advisory Committee

Liaison to: JobLIST, Governance, Center for the Future of Libraries, ERT, LearnRT, GNCRT

George Eberhart
Senior Editor
geberhart@ala.org
ext. 4212

Ask me about:

  • AL Direct
  • State of America's Libraries
  • Latest Library Links
  • Global news briefs

Liaison to: ACRL, CRO, ​IFRT, IRO, IRRT, LHRT, MAGIRT, OIF, RUSA

Phil Morehart
Senior Editor
pmorehart@ala.org
ext. 4218

Ask me about:

  • Dewey Decibel podcast
  • Emerging Leaders
  • Design Showcase
  • Dining Guide

Liaison to: AASL, ALCTS, GODORT, GameRT, LLAMA, NMRT, PPO

Rebecca Lomax
Art Director
she/her/hers
rlomax@ala.org
ext. 4217

Ask me about:

  • Design and layout of AL and State of America's Libraries
  • Hiring and managing photographers and illustrators
  • Infographics
  • Conference photography
Sallyann Price
Associate Editor
she/her/hers
sprice@ala.org
ext. 4213

Ask me about:

  • Preview and wrap-up coverage for Annual and Midwinter conferences
  • Letters-to-the-editor page and the “On My Mind” op-ed section (If you know someone with an opinion to share, send them my way!)

Liaison to: Accreditation, ASGCLA, LARC, and the Library Support Staff Interests, Staff Organizations, Library Research, and Library Instruction round tables.

Terra Dankowski
Managing Editor
she/her/hers
tdankowski@ala.org
ext. 5282

Ask me about:

  • Editorial content
  • Lead times/deadlines
  • Story ideas/freelance writing opportunities
  • Editorial contracts/permissions
  • Synergy/partnership opportunities
  • 1986 New York Mets/The Simpsons, Seasons 2–9

Liaison to: ALSC, EMIERT, ODLOS, SRRT, SustainRT, United for Libraries, YALSA

Booklist

Booklist is the book review magazine of the American Library Association, considered an essential collection development and readers’-advisory tool by thousands of librarians since 1903. Subscriptions to Booklist include full access to Booklist Online, which includes digital editions of Booklist, a growing archive of 180,000+ reviews from the past 25 years, as well as a wealth of free featureswebinars, and the latest news and views on books and mediaBooklist subscribers also receive Book Links, a quarterly supplement helping connect books to libraries, and K-8 classrooms. 

 

George Kendall
Editor and Publisher
gkendall@ala.org
ext. 5717

Ask me about:

  • Editorial policy
  • Budget
  • Advertising 
  • Interunit collaborations
  • Licensing opportunities
  Annie Bostrom
Associate Editor
she/her/hers 
abostrom@ala.org
ext. 5756

Ask me about:

  • Adult books reviews and features (cookbooks, crafts, and gardening in particular)
  Ben Segedin
Production Director
bsegedin@ala.org
ext. 5729

Ask me about:

  • Production of Booklist, Book Links magazines, and digital products
  • Development of Booklist Online and the Booklist Publishing System
  Biz Hyzy
Editorial Assistant
she/her/hers
bhyzy@ala.org
ext. 5723

Ask me about:

  • Adult books and audiobooks scheduled for review
  • Booklist Online Exclusive newsletter
  Briana Shemroske
Marketing Associate
bshemroske@ala.org
ext. 5710

Ask me about:

  • Webinar production
  • Blog management
  • Newsletter advertising
  Carlos Orellana
Production Editor
corellana@ala.org
ext. 5714

Ask me about:

  • Layout of Booklist print
  • Production of newsletters
  • Productions schedules
  Chris Anderson
Editorial Assistant
canderson@ala.org
ext.  5724

Ask me about:

  • Adult books scheduled for review
  Chris Simon
Production Editor
csimon@ala.org
ext. 5758

Ask me about:

  • Layout of Booklist print
  • Graphic design for print and online products
  Cynthia Harden
Ad Traffic Coordinator
charden@ala.org
ext. 2421

Ask me about:

  • Recording all advertising orders, print and electronic
  • Advertising billing
  Dan Kaplan
Marketing Manager
dkaplan@ala.org
ext. 5284

Ask me about:

  • Subscriptions and customer service
  • Informz and Webex software
  Donna Seaman
Editor, Adult Books
dseaman@ala.org
ext. 5754

Ask me about:

  • Editorial content (features and reviews) related to books for adults
  • Freelance reviewing opportunities for adult books
  Grace Rosean
Marketing Associate
grosean@ala.org
ext. 5757

Ask me about:

  • Webinar production
  • Social Media
  • Admin support
Julia Smith Photo Julia Smith
Associate Editor
she/her/hers
jsmith@ala.org
ext. 5719

Ask me about:

  • Youth Series Nonfiction
  • Spanish/Bilingual Books
  • Middle-Grade Literature
  • Youth Book Reviews
Maggie Reagan
Senior Editor, Books for Youth
she/her/hers
mreagan@ala.org
ext. 5722

Ask me about:

  • Youth reviews and features for Booklist
  • Features and advertising for Book Links
  • Freelancing opportunities in Book Links
  • Writing for or subscribing to the Quick Tips newsletter
  • ABBA
Melissa Carr Photo Melissa Carr
Marketing Director
she/her/hers
mcarr@ala.org
ext. 5713

Ask me about:

  • Marketing & Special promotions 
  • Advertising and Sales
  • Partnerships with publishers and divisions
  • Being Ash's mom
  • Cooking and live music 
Michael Ruzicka Photo Michael Ruzicka
Office Manager
he/him/his
mruzicka@ala.org
ext. 5725

Ask me about:

  • Staff book sales
  • General questions regarding operations
  • Accounts payable
  • Internship Program
  • Review of the Day selection
  • Licensing Revenue
Ronny Khuri Photo Ronny Khuri
Associate Editor, Books for Youth
he/him/his
rkhuri@ala.org
ext. 5711

Ask me about:

  • Editorial content (reviews and features) pertaining to children’s books (especially middle-grade and picture books
Photo of Sarah Hunter Sarah Hunter
Editor, Books for Youth
shunter@ala.org
ext. 5716

Ask me about:

  • Editorial content (features and reviews) related to books for youth
  • Graphic novels for adults and youth
  • Freelance reviewing and feature writing opportunities for children's and YA books and graphic novels
  • Special promotional projects relating to books for children and teens or graphic novels
  • General oversight of the books for youth section
  Susan Maguire
Senior Editor
she/her/hers
smaguire@ala.org
ext. 5720

Ask me about:

  • Collection management and library outreach (Corner Shelf newsletter and Shelf Care podcast)
  • Adult books reviews and features (SF/fantasy & horror, women’s fiction, reference)
  • Dogs
  Taylor Crossley
Editorial Assistant, Books for Youth 
she/her/hers
tcrossley@ala.org
ext. 5718

Ask me about:

  • Editorial schedule 
  • Review inquiries

Digital Reference

ALA Digital Reference serves the international cataloging community’s desire for a 21st - century standard that facilitates and advances the creation and exchange of bibliographic data - RDA: Resource Description and Access. ALA Digital Reference provides access to the standard through a range of related digital and print products. RDA Toolkit is the source for RDA: Resource Description and Access and related resources and is published by the RDA Co-Publishers: the American Library Association, the Canadian Federation of Library Associations, and Facet Publishing, the publishing arm of CILIP: the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals.

  James Hennelly
Director
jhennelly@ala.org
ext. 5051

Ask me about:

  • RDA planning and development
  • RDA translation requests
  • RSC or RDA Board inquiries
  • RDA Fund 
  • Budget-related questions
 

Jen Gongorek
Administrative Assistant II
she/her/hers
jgongorek@ala.org
ext. 4211

Ask me about:

  • RDA Toolkit purchasing inquiries
  • Customer service questions
      Ramon Robinson
    Marketing and Sales Manager
    he/him/his
    rrobinson@ala.org
    ext. 5840

    Ask me about:

    • RDA digital and print content
    • RDA partnership opportunities
    • RDA sales prospects

    Editions | Neal-Schuman | TechSource

    ALA Editions and ALA Neal-Schuman publishes resources used worldwide by tens of thousands of library and information professionals to improve programs, build on best practices, develop leadership, and for personal professional development. ALA TechSource publishes Library Technology Reports and Smart Libraries Newsletterhelping information professionals make informed technology decision

     

    Alejandra Diaz
    Senior Graphic Designer
    adiaz@ala.org
    ext. 5852

    Ask me about:

    • Design
     

    Angela Gwizdala
    Director of Editing, Design, and Production
    agwizdala@ala.org
    ext. 1544

    Ask me about:

    • Book production
    • The Chicago Manual of Style
    • Copy editors, proofreaders, and indexers
    • Quilts and poker
      Jamie Santoro
    Senior Acquisitions Editor
    jsantoro@ala.org
    ext. 5107

    Ask me about:

    • Acquisitions (especially related to public and school libraries)
      Jill Hillemeyer
    Marketing Manager
    she/her/hers
    jhillemeyer@ala.org
    ext. 1543

    Ask me about:

    • Marketing (especially strategic and partnerships in ALA)
    Kimberly Thornton Photo Kimberly Thornton
    Senior Graphic Designer
    she/her/hers
    kthornton@ala.org
    ext. 5844

    Ask me about:

    • Editorial design (covers, layouts, products)
    • Marketing design (direct mail, email, flyers, promotional collateral, online graphics)
    • Other online design or product ideas (I am learning web, mobile, and UX design)
    • Digital file formats & requirements
    • Stock imagery needs
    Kit Curl Photo Kit Curl
    Operations Manager
    he/him/his
    kcurl@ala.org
    ext. 2426

    Ask me about:

    • Royalties
    • ISBN assignments
    • EPS Reconciliations
    • Data analysis & databases
    • PBD-related questions (ALA internal customers)
    • Bikes and cats
    Patrick Hogan
    Senior Acquisitions Editor
    phogan@ala.org
    ext. 3240

    Ask me about:

    • Acquisitions (especially related to academic libraries)
    Peggy Galus
    Sales/Customer Service Manager
    mgalus@ala.org
    ext. 2168

    Ask me about:

    • Sales and fulfillment
    • PBD-related questions (customers outside ALA)
    Rachel Chance
    Senior Acquisitions Editor
    she/her/hers
    rchance@ala.org
    ext. 1548

    Ask me about:

    • Textbooks and other resources for LIS faculty and students
    • Books for scholars and practitioners in archives and special libraries
    • The Library Futures series and the Archival Futures series
    • Bike commuting!
      Rob Christopher
    Marketing Coordinator
    rchristopher@ala.org
    ext. 5052

    Ask me about:

    • Marketing
    • ALA Store
    • Press releases
    • Review copies of books
    • Social media
    • Catalogs
      Samantha (Sam) Imburgia
    Managing Editor
    she/her/hers
    simburgia@ala.org
    ext. 3244

    Ask me about:

    • Manuscript guidelines
    • Book production processes
    • Library Technology Reports and Smart Libraries Newsletter
      Valerie Williams
    Senior Administrative Assistant
    valwilliams@ala.org
    ext. 5417

    Ask me about:

    • Administrative issues

    eLearning Solutions

    ALA eLearning Solutions (ELS) produces high-quality professional development events and materials for the library profession, covering a wide variety of topics in formats that include live workshops, asynchronous eCourses, and more.

            

    Dan Freeman
    Director
    he/him/his
    dfreeman@ala.org
    ext. 5413

    Ask me about:

    • eLearning operations
    • eLearning products
    • Partnerships
     

    Colton Ursiny
    Office Coordinator
    he/him & they/them
    cursiny@ala.org
    ext. 5100

    Ask me about:

    • Questions about eCourse and Webinar registration
    • Technical assistance
    • Event login information
    • Billing and invoicing
    • Moodle questions
    • Tabletop roleplaying games 
    Hannah Murphy
    Administrative Assistant II
    she/her/hers
    hmurphy@ala.org
    ext. 4027

    Ask me about:

    • Running webinars
    • eLearning customer service
    • Instructor payments and contracts

    Graphics

    ALA Graphics has been producing unique posters, bookmarks, gifts, and incentives in support of libraries, literacy, and reading for more than 35 years. Home of the iconic Celebrity READ® poster campaign and exclusive art from award-winning children’s book illustrators, ALA Graphics is also the official source of promotional materials for Banned Books Week, National Library Week, National Library Workers Day, and Library Card Sign-up Month, among other events.

    Rachel Johnson
    Director
    rjohnson@ala.org
    ext. 5040

    Ask me about:

    • Division/office collaboration
    • External partnerships
    • Marketing product in the ALA Graphics catalog
    • READ® trademark related questions
    • Poster and product permissions

    Julie Cai
    Project Coordinator
    jcai@ala.org
    ext. 5411

    Ask me about:

    • Customer service questions
    • Product suggestions and feedback
    • PBD sales and inventory questions/reports
    • Free posters for new staff
    • Help with digital downloads
    • ALA Store gift certificates
    • Staff orders

    Licensing & Permissions

    Licensing & Permissions handle permissions, trademarking, royalties, and licensing for all of ALA, as well as administering the Carnegie Whitney grant for Publishing. The bulk of this unit's work is digital award seal licensing, communicating and enforcing compliance with our policies, and processing digital revenue for ALSC, ODLOS, and YALSA.

     

    Mary Jo Bolduc
    Licensing & Permissions Manager
    mbolduc@ala.org
    ext. 5416

    Ask me about:

    • General rights, permissions, licensing
    • Award seals licensing
    • Carnegie-Whitney awards
    • ALA Publishing Committee
    • General ALA Publishing Department questions

    Print Services

    Terrence Miltner Photo

    Terrence Miltner
    Manager
    tmiltner@ala.org
    ext. 5066

    Ask me about:

    • Printing
    • Print buying
    • Signage
    • Problems with area Konica Minolta copiers (For desk printers contact IT)

    Production Services

    As an ALA staff member, you have access to Production Services any time you need to create modern and engaging materials to share with your segment of the library community. Check out this portfolio of ALA design projects for some examples and inspiration. Please use the Production Services Request Form to submit a new request to the ALA PS in-house team. 

    Tim Clifford Photo Tim Clifford
    Manager
    tclifford@ala.org
    ext. 1540

    Ask me about:

    • Production needs
    • Available services and pricing information
    • Journal layout/production
    • LinkedIn Learning licenses
    • Production PC specs 
    • Freelancer recommendations
    • Open Journal Systems (OJS)
    • Public Knowledge Project (PKP)
    • Copyediting and proofreading
    • CMOS/style guide
    • Adobe Creative Cloud
    Chris Keech Photo Chris Keech
    Senior Editor
    ckeech@ala.org
    ext. 1541

    Ask me about:

    • Journal/newsletter production
    • Copyediting and proofreading
    • CMOS17/style guide
    • Adobe Creative Cloud
    Lauren Ehle Photo Lauren Ehle
    Senior Production Editor / Graphic Designer
    lehle@ala.org
    ext. 5845

    Ask me about:

    • Graphic design (including requests)
    • Adobe Creative Cloud
    • Informz