STARS-Atlas Systems Mentoring Award Committee



To administer the STARS-Atlas Systems Mentoring Award.  Sponsored by Atlas Systems, Inc., this award offers $1,000 to fund travel expenses associated with attending ALA’s annual conference. The recipient will be a library practitioner who is new to the field of interlibrary loan/document delivery or electronic reserves, and who has daily, hands-on involvement in the areas of borrowing, lending, document delivery, electronic reserves, material delivery, or resource sharing.


Collette Mack (2011-12)

Link to Current Roster

About the STARS-Atlas Systems Mentoring Award

This award is intended for persons who have been in the profession for less than two years, or an individual who is newly employed in interlibrary loan, resource sharing or electronic reserves position and has little or no experience in that area. M.L.S. or ALA membership is not required for this award. Preference will be given to those with greatest demonstrated need for the purposes of professional development, networking, education, and service to their local community. The STARS Education and Training Committee will assign a mentor to the recipient for the conference to help them navigate through the conference experience. The recipient is expected to participate in STARS events throughout the conference.

Nominations should be submitted to the award committee chair and should contain the following materials:

Proof of entry into this field for the first time, in the form of written confirmation from the human resources office or the library director.
A current, verifiable resume, including their current position, department and library with a brief description of job responsibilities.
A statement of petition, in essay format (no more than three pages) addressing the following questions:
Why are you interested in attending ALA Annual?
What benefits would you like to see in mentoring at ALA Annual?
How might your attendance benefit service at your local institution?
What, in particular, interests you about interlibrary loan, resource sharing or electronic reserves?
Questions should be directed to the committee chair. The deadline for nominations is December 15.


2007- Danielle Cournoyer

2006- Diane Leja