ABC-CLIO Online History Award

This is the first American Library Association (ALA) award of its kind to acknowledge the importance of Internet-based historical resources. The History Section and ABC-CLIO, a publisher of reference materials in the field of history, seek to encourage the development of freely available, sustainable online history resources with this award by singling out innovative projects and the individuals who create them.  The award, which consists of a citation and $3,000 donated by ABC-CLIO, is given to encourage, recognize and commend professional achievement in historical reference and research librarianship. This award has been offered every other year beginning in 2005.

More information on the ABC-CLIO Online History Award is available.

ABC-CLIO Online History Award Winners:

2007 Faith Jones, for her Yizkor (Holocaust Memorial) Books project
2005 Oregon Historical Society, for its Oregon History Project

Genealogical Publishing Company Award

A citation and $1,500 cash award to a librarian, library or publisher to encourage professional achievement in historical reference and research librarianship. The recipient must be an RUSA member and shall be selected for exceptional accomplishment related to bibliography, book reviewing, indexing, professional association leadership, programs and training. Sponsor: The Genealogical Press. (Established 1992)

The jury for choosing an award recipient is a standing committee of the History Section consisting of five History Section members. Members should represent diversity in geography and type of library. Members serve two-year terms. Consecutive terms are not permitted. Nominees will be reviewed in a closed meeting of the committee during Midwinter.

To nominate an individual, send a letter following the format below, detailing the individual's accomplishments and service to the field. The Committee understands that not all fields may be relevant for all nominees. This format may be cut and pasted or downloaded. Accompanying materials are welcomed. Please keep in mind that as well known as the nominee may be, not everyone on the panel may be familiar with their work. Nominations will remain active for two years. Individuals nominated this year who do not receive the award will automatically be reconsidered for the following award. The deadline is December 15. Letters of nomination can be sent to the chair.

Name of nominee:

Present title:

Present employer:

Contact information:

Past positions:

Service to History Section:

Service to RUSA:

Service to ALA:

Service to allied organizations:

Awards received:


Anything else the Committee should know:


Nominator's Contact Information:

Genealogical Publishing Company Award Winners:

2006 Nancy Huling
2005 Michael Barren Clegg
2004 Samuel J. Boldrick
2003 Charles F. Cummings
2002 Curt B. Witcher
2001 Margaret Ann Reinert
2000 Paul Mogren
1999 Thomas J. Muth Jr.
1998 Judith Prowse Reid
1997 Raymond S. Wright III
1996 Gunther E. Pohl
1995 Donald R. Brown
1994 J. Carlyle Parker
1993 William P.Filby
This information is also accessible from the RUSA Awards page.