The Library within a Library: The Makerspace Service Point

Tuesday, 4/4/2017
  • 11:00 AM-12:30 PM (Eastern)
  • 10:00 AM-11:30 AM (Central)
  • 9:00 AM-10:30 AM (Mountain)
  • 8:00 AM-9:30 AM (Pacific)

The makerspace trend often pushes equipment and space to the forefront, but what user services are necessary to bring these materials to life? How do we ensure everyone from the uninitiated to the accomplished feels welcome and receives the appropriate level of service? This webinar will recontextualize library services and infrastructure for a makerspace experience that is consistent for every patron, scalable to any skill level, and integrated into the overall library experience. Specifically, we will cover circulation, reference services, and staffing models. This webinar aims to get beyond the usual conversation about specific tools and into the day-to-day nitty gritty of running a successful space.

Learning Outcomes

  • Learning Outcome 1: Develop a circulation policy for equipment
  • Learning Outcome 2: Adjust reference skills to an environment geared towards specialized software and equipment.
  • Learning Outcome 3: Develop a staffing plan for a full service point for collaborative creation. 

Who Should Attend

People who would like to take their makerspace from limited hours to a full service point. Directors who would like to hop on the makerspace trend, but aren’t sure where to start. New librarians who have added a few maker services, but would like to do more.

Presenters

Bo Baker and Emily Thompson are from the University of Tennessee Chattanooga Library. Bo, 2009 MLIS from University of Pittsburgh, serves as Director of the Studio. Emily, 2011 MSI from University of Michigan, serves as Studio Librarian. Together they opened Studio as a new service point in the all-new UTC Library in January, 2015. They share premature grey hair, theatre training, and rural upbringings. 

Registration

Cost

Individual registration rates are as follows:


RUSA members: $45
ALA members: $50
ALA student & retired members: $25
Non-members: $65
Group rate: $99 single login, $38/person multiple logins. (min. 2 people)

How to Register

Register online

 

Tech Requirements

This webinar will be offered using Adobe Connect. Please ensure that you have Adobe Flash Player Version 10.1 or later on your computer. Audio for these sessions will be streamed over computer speakers and via a teleconference line. You will be able to ask questions and interact with the presenter and other webinar participants via chat.

You can test your settings to verify that your computer is configured properly to participate in this webinar.

Contact

Questions about your registration should be directed to registration@ala.org. 

Technical questions about the webinar should be directed to Jennifer Cross, RUSA Web Manager, at jcross@ala.org. 

Thank you and we look forward to your participation!