Get Started with Adult Literacy Programming in your Public Library

Wednesday, 2/20/2019
  • 12:00 PM-1:30 PM (Eastern)
  • 11:00 AM-12:30 PM (Central)
  • 10:00 AM-11:30 AM (Mountain)
  • 9:00 AM-10:30 AM (Pacific)

Oftentimes, adult patrons ask public librarians indirectly about financial situations in which they have found themselves. They seek practical solutions quickly. Yet, questions such as how to navigate websites to apply for bankruptcy, unemployment, loans for cash, as well as obtaining a credit report take time and expertise. In these cases, financial literacy programming can provide the time and expertise to assist adults with their questions.

In this webinar, learn how to get started in planning financial literacy programming. 

Learning Outcomes

By the end of webinar, the participant will be able to: 

  • Identify financial literacy information needs
  • Find resources on financial literacy
  • Outline a plan to start a program on financial literacy

Who Should Attend

This welcome will be helpful to adult services librarians in public libraries, but the content will be relevant to all librarians.

Instructor

Melissa Jeter, is an Adult Reference Librarian at the Heatherdowns Branch of the Toledo-Lucas County Public Library. Melissa holds a Masters in Library Science Degree from the University of Illinois and performs reference work and hosts adult financial literacy classes for the library. She was 2008 ALA Emerging Leader and also served as coordinator for the Northwest Chapter of the Ohio Library Council in 2011.

Registration

Cost

Individual registration rates are as follows: 

RUSA members: $45

ALA members: $50

ALA student & retired members; $25

Non-members: $65

Group rates: $99 single login, $38/per person multiple logins (min 2 people)

How to Register

Register Online

Tech Requirements

This webinar will be offered using Zoom. Please ensure that you have internet connection. Audio for these sessions will be streamed over computer speakers and via a teleconference line. You will be able to ask questions and interact with the presenter and other webinar participants via chat.

Contact

Questions about your registration should be directed to registration@ala.org

Technical questions about the webinar should be directed to Ninah Moore, RUSA Training & Events Coordinator, at nmoore@ala.org

Thank you and we look forward to your participation!