BRASS: Publications and Communications


To provide advice and recommendations regarding BRASS publications to the BRASS Executive Committee. To provide coordination of BRASS publication efforts and work closely with the RUSA Publications Committee through the BRASS Section Representative.


Carol E. Smith (Chair, July 1, 2010, to June 30, 2011)
Louise M. Feldmann (Member, July 1, 2010, to June 30, 2012)
Ms. Shana Gass (Member, July 1, 2010, to June 30, 2012)
Naomi E. Hafter (Member, July 1, 2009, to June 30, 2011)
Monica J. Hagan (Member, July 1, 2010, to June 30, 2012)
Kate Joranson (Member, July 1, 2009, to June 30, 2011)
Mr. Charles F. Lyons (Member, July 1, 2010, to June 30, 2012)
Jill S. Markgraf (Member, July 1, 2009, to July 1, 2011)
Robert Perret (Member, July 1, 2009, to June 30, 2011)
Ms. Kaiping Zhang (Member, July 1, 2010, to June 30, 2012)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2010. Last retrieved on 06/25/2018. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.



There shall be at least seven (7) members appointed by the Vice-Chair/Chair-Elect of BRASS. Committee members should have experience or knowledge of editing, publishing, or writing in the professional field and represent various types of libraries and geographic regions. The BRASS Notes Editor, BRASS Representative to the RUSA Publications and Communications Committee, BRASS-L Manager, Member Publications List Manager, Membership Directory Manager, and Webmaster serve as ex-officio (nonvoting) members.

Terms of Office
Members of the Committee will serve for two years and shall be eligible for reappointment for a consecutive two-year term. Terms will be staggered so that continuity will be maintained.


Established in 1985 as a unit of the Business Reference Services Committee. Purpose statement amended in 1988.

Get Involved

Already an ALA member?   Then please consider becoming a member of RUSA.  With a RUSA membership, you can join BRASS and as many other RUSA sections as you want at no extra charge.

Staff Liaison

Jennifer Cross
Web Services Mgr.