BRASS: Emerald Research Award


Kelly S. Janousek (Chair, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2018)
Jennifer C. Boettcher (Member, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2019)
Diane K. Campbell (Member, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2018)
Ms. Lisa Louis (Member, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2019)

Displaying active committee roster as of 06/24/2018. Last retrieved on 06/24/2018. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.



  • The candidate (or one candidate from a team) must be a member of ALA.

  • The recipient must use the award to conduct research in business librarianship. 

  • The recipient may be asked to present their findings at a public BRASS event within two years of receiving the award (at the discretion of the BRASS Executive Committee).

  • The recipient will be required to acknowledge the Emerald Research Grant when publishing or presenting their research.

Nomination of Candidates

Candidates must submit a detailed proposal outlining their proposed research project, methodology, scope and timetable; how the project fits into the existing literature; and projected outcomes, including a statement outlining how this research will benefit the library profession.  Candidates’ proposals will be reviewed for thoroughness; potential to positively impact the library profession; and potential to provide a useful addition to the existing library literature. Proposals will be accepted from both individual researchers and those working collaboratively. At least one member of a collaborative team must be a member of ALA.

*Deadline: Research proposals will be due by the business day nearest December 15 of each year.

*Interested candidates should submit their proposals to the Committee Chair, Elizabeth Stephan ( 

Presentation of the Award

The awards (check and citation) will be presented at the RUSA Awards Ceremony at the annual conferences each year. Recipients will be required to attend the RUSA Awards Ceremony.

Form and/or Type of Award 

Two $5,000 awards will be presented during each of the first two years after the establishment of the award, with the total amount awarded at $10,000 each year, $20,000 total for the two years.

Get Involved

Already an ALA member?   Then please consider becoming a member of RUSA.  With a RUSA membership, you can join BRASS and as many other RUSA sections as you want at no extra charge.

Staff Liaison

Jennifer Cross
Web Services Mgr.