Genealogy / History Achievement Award Sponsored by ProQuest

ProQuest logo

Established in 1992, Genealogy / History Achievement Award, Sponsored by ProQuest, presents a citation and $1,500* to a librarian, library or publisher, in recognition of professional achievement in historical or genealogical reference, service, or research librarianship. The recipient shall be selected for exceptional accomplishment in one or more of the following areas: leadership; service; training; reference; or publication of recent, significant print or digital reference works/projects that offer access to genealogical or historical sources. Preference shall be given to members of RUSA.


Nomination materials should include the following:

  • A completed copy of the nomination form
  • Complete contact information for both the nominee and the nominator
  • Previous work experience (titles and employers)
  • An outline of service to ALA, RUSA and the History Section Service to allied organizations
  • Awards received
  • Publication credits
  • A narrative outlining why the nominee deserves the award; must go beyond a listing of the nominee’s credentials.  
  • Any other information relevant to the nominee’s qualifications for this award

Questions may be directed to the committee chair, Jennifer Daugherty,

*Monetary award amounts are subject to change without notice and are contingent upon donor funding supplied at the time the award is presented. Questions about these awards should be directed to the committee chairperson or to Leighann Wood, RUSA awards program coordinator, at



To nominate a deserving member, download and complete the nomination form, and follow the submission instructions therein.

Submissions must be received by December 9, 2016.

Questions should be directed to the committee chair, Jennifer Daugherty,


2016 Michele C. McNabb, Genealogy Center, Museum of Danish America
2015 Michael D. Kirley, Los Angeles Public Library
2014 William “Bill” Forsyth, Proquest
2013 Janice Schultz, Midwest Genealogy Center, Mid-Continent Public Library (Mo.)
2012 Jay L. Verkler
2011 Mary K. Mannix, Frederick County Public Libraries, Frederick Maryland
2010 Thomas Jay Kemp, Director, genealogy products, NewsBank
2009 Ruth Carr
2008 Carla Rickerson
2007 Louis A. Vyhnanek
2006 Nancy Huling
2005 Michael Barren Clegg
2004 Samuel J. Boldrick
2003 Charles F. Cummings
2002 Curt B. Witcher
2001 Margaret Ann Reinert
2000 Paul A. Mogren
1999 Thomas. J. Muth Jr.
1998 Judith Prowse Reid
1997 Raymond S. Wright III
1996 Gunther Erich Pohl
1995 Donald R. Brown
1994 J. Carlyle Parker
1993 P. William Filby