The Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction

The Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction were established in 2012 to recognize the best fiction and nonfiction books for adult readers published in the U.S. the previous year. The shortlisted authors and eventual winners reflect the expert judgment and insight of the seven-member selection committee of library professionals who work closely with adult readers. These are the ALA’s first single-book awards for adult trade fiction and nonfiction.

The Andrew Carnegie Medals are funded through a grant from Carnegie Corporation of New York and established on the occasion of the centennial celebration of the founding of Carnegie Corporation of New York. They recognize Andrew Carnegie’s deep belief in the power of books and learning to change the world.

Finalists: A shortlist of finalists is announced each May from 50 titles drawn from the previous year’s Booklist Choice and RUSA CODES Notable Books lists. The winners (one for fiction, one for nonfiction) are announced at an event at ALA Annual Conference; winning authors receive a $5,000 cash award, and two finalists in each category receive $1,500.

Selection Committee: The annually appointed selection committee includes a chair, three Booklist editors or contributors, and three former members of RUSA Notable Books Council.

Website: For more information about the Carnegie Medals, please visit ALA's website for the Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction here.



Titles are drawn from the previous year's Booklist Editor's Choice and RUSA CODES Notable Books lists. There are no direct submissions to these awards.

To find current and past lists of shortlist titles and winners, please visit the dedicated website.

Wondering what to put on your Summer reading list?

If you liked our Carnegie shortlist, you will also enjoy our recommended readalikes...

Need a new title for your book group?

RUSA's Notable Books Council has created a book group discussion guide for each of the 2014 Andrew Carnegie medal winners. Print them out here for your next book club meeting! 

Discussion Guide for The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt
Discussion Guide for The Bully Pulpit by Doris Kearns Goodwin

The American Library Association offers resources on how to form a book group, how to structure a meeting, how to select books and how to facilitate a meaningful literary discussion. For more information visit

A guide to Making the most of the Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction in your library, bookstore, and reading group.



Fiction: "The Goldfinch" by Donna Tartt

Non-fiction: "The Bully Pulpit: Theodore Roosevelt, William Howard Taft, and the Golden Age of Journalism" by Doris Kearns Goodwin


Fiction:  "Canada" by Richard Ford

Non-fiction:  "Short Nights of the Shadow Catcher" by Timothy Egan


Fiction:  "The Forgotten Waltz" by Anne Enright

Non-fiction:  "Catherine the Great" by Robert Massie