Virginia Boucher-OCLC Distinguished ILL Librarian Award

The Virginia Boucher-OCLC Distinguished ILL (Interlibrary Loan) Librarian Award is an annual award consisting of $2,000, sponsored by OCLC, and a citation. It recognizes a degreed librarian for outstanding professional achievement, leadership, and contributions to interlibrary loan and document delivery through recent publication of significant professional literature, participation in professional associations, and/or innovative approaches to practice in individual libraries.

The candidate must have been employed in a library and held some responsibility for his or her institution's ILL, document delivery, or resource sharing services at the time the contributions be honored was made. Contributions supporting a nomination must have occurred during the last two years prior to the nomination deadline. The candidate's achievement must be demonstrated in at least one of the following areas:

  1. Planning and implementing an innovative or pioneering approach to ILL/document delivery service that is recognized as a model on a regional or national level.
  2. Notable publication, such as an article, book, or conference paper, which is deemed significant in the literature of the field, and was published in the two years prior to the candidate’s nomination.
  3. A record of sustained, recognized, and exceptional participation in regional, national, or international associations devoted to the promotion of ILL/document delivery in a library environment.

*Monetary award amounts are subject to change without notice and are contingent upon donor funding supplied at the time the award is presented. Questions about these awards should be directed to the committee chairperson or to Leighann Wood, RUSA awards program coordinator, at



To nominate a librarian, download and complete the nomination form, and follow the submission instructions therein. Self-nominations are permitted. Previous nominees who were not selected in previous years are welcome to reapply. 

The deadline for nominations is EXTENDED TO December 31, 2015.

Questions should be directed to the committee chair, Collette G. Mak,



Lars Leon, University of Kansas


David Larsen, University of Chicago


Collette G. Mak, University of Notre Dame


Cyril Oberlander


Ed Rivenburgh, SUNY Geneseo


Cherié Weible, Head of Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign


Barbara Coopey


Suzanne Ward


Anne K. Beaubien


Arlene Cohen


Harry M. Kriz


Joan Stein


Mary A. Hollerich


Tom Delaney


Lynn Wiley


Joanne Halgren