RUSA Achievement Awards

ABC-CLIO Online History Award

The ABC-CLIO Online History Award is offered every other year beginning in 2005. It consists of $2,500 donated by ABC-CLIO, a publisher of reference materials in the field of history, and a citation. The award recognizes the accomplishments of a person or a group of people producing (1) a freely available online historical collection, or (2) an online tool tailored for the purpose of finding historical materials, or (3) an online teaching aid stimulating creative historical scholarship. 

Virginia Boucher-OCLC Distinguished ILL Librarian Award

The Virginia Boucher-OCLC Distinguished ILL (Interlibrary Loan) Librarian Award is an annual award consisting of $2,000, sponsored by OCLC, and a citation. It recognizes a librarian for outstanding professional achievement, leadership, and contributions to interlibrary loan and document delivery through recent publication of significant professional literature, participation in professional associations, and/or innovative approaches to practice in individual libraries.

RUSA BRASS Academic Business Librarianship Travel Award

This inaugural award recognizes a librarian new to the field of academic business librarianship in order to support attendance to the ALA Annual Conference.

BRASS Morningstar Public Librarian Support Award

This award of $1,000 is to support the attendance at Annual Conference of a public librarian who has performed outstanding business reference service and who requires financial assistance to attend the ALA Annual Conference.

BRASS Emerald Research Grant Award

The Emerald Research Grant Award will be awarded to individuals seeking support to conduct research in business librarianship. The funds may be used at the discretion of the award recipients.

BRASS Gale Cengage Student Travel Award

Established in 1992 and sponsored by Gale Cengage Learning, this $1,000 cash award is given to a student enrolled in an ALA accredited master's degree program to fund travel to and attendance at the ALA Annual Conference and a one-year membership in the Business Reference and Services Section (BRASS) of RUSA. Applicants should have demonstrated interest in a career as a business reference librarian, and a potential to be a leader in the profession as demonstrated by activities that may include (but are not limited to) coursework, internships, jobs, special projects, and publications.

BRASS Gale Cengage Excellence in Business Librarianship

Established in 1989, the Gale Cengage Learning Award for Excellence in Business Librarianship presents a citation and $3,000 cash award to an individual who has made a significant contribution to business librarianship.

Gale Cengage Learning Award for Excellence in Reference and Adult Services

Established in 1990, the Gale Cengage Learning Award for Excellence in Reference and Adult Library Services is a citation and $3,000 cash award presented to a library or library system for developing an imaginative and unique resource to meet patrons' reference needs.

Gale Cengage History Research and Innovation Award 

Established in 2012, the Gale Cengage History Research and Innovation Award winner will receive a citation and up to $2500 (less 20% overhead) which may be used at the winner’s discretion.  This award will be granted to an MLS degreed librarian from an ALA accredited school to facilitate and further research relating to history and history librarianship.  An emphasis in an area reflected by the History Section’s subject-oriented committees, not excluding American history, is required.  Those committees are:  Genealogy, Local History, Instruction and Research Services, and Historical Materials.  

Genealogical Publishing Company Award

Established in 1992 and sponsored by Genealogical Publishing Company, this award presents a citation and $1,500 cash to a librarian, library or publisher and recognizes professional achievement in historical reference and research librarianship.

Margaret E. Monroe Library Adult Services Award

Established in 1985, the Margaret E. Monroe Award is citation presented to a librarian who has made significant contributions to library adult services. The individual may be practicing librarian, a library and information science researcher or educator, or a retired librarian who has brought distinction to the profession's understanding and practice or services for adults.

Isadore Gilbert Mudge Award

Sponsored by Gale Cengage Learning, the Isadore Gilbert Mudge Award was established in 1958. It presents a cash award of $5,000 and a citation to an individual who has made a distinguished contribution to reference librarianship.

My Favorite Martian Award (MARS)

The MARS Achievement Recognition Certificate is given annually to recognize excellence in service to MARS. This award, presented at the annual MARS Chair's Program, is given to an individual who is a current member of MARS, and has been an active member for the past two years.

Reference Services Press Award

Established in 1985 and sponsored by Reference Services Press, this award constitutes a plaque and $2,500 cash. It recognizes the most outstanding article published in RUSQ during the preceding two-volume year.

RSS Service Achievement Award

This annual award, founded in 2010, is given to an RSS member who has made either a sustained contribution towards attaining the goals of the Reference Services Section or a single significant contribution that has resulted in a positive impact upon the work of the section.

John Sessions Memorial Award

Established in 1980, the John Sessions Memorial Award recognizes a library or library system which has made a significant effort to work with the labor community and by doing so has brought recognition to the history and contribution of the labor movement to the development of the United States. Such efforts may include outreach projects to local labor unions; establishment of, or significant expansion of, special labor collections; initiation of programs of special interest to the labor community; or other library activities that serve the labor community.

Louis Shores Award

Established in 1990, this award recognizes an individual reviewer, group, editor, review medium or organization for excellence in book reviewing and other media for libraries.

STARS-Atlas Systems Mentoring Award

Sponsored by Atlas Systems, Inc., this award offers $1,000 to fund travel expenses associated with attending ALA’s annual conference. The recipient will be a library practitioner who is new to the field of interlibrary loan/document delivery or electronic reserves, and who has daily, hands-on involvement in the areas of borrowing, lending, document delivery, electronic reserves, material delivery, or resource sharing.

Zora Neale Hurston Award

This annual award, founded in 2008, is given to any ALA member who has demonstrated leadership in promoting African American literature.