RUSA Awards

RUSA Awards are acknowledged and celebrated at both Annual and Midwinter meeting.


Book & Media Awards

RUSA is home to many book and media awards and Best of Lists for adults. Now in the national spotlight with other prestigious literary awards, the Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction are announced at the RUSA’s Book and Media Awards ceremony at ALA’s Midwinter Meeting. The year’s best in fiction, nonfiction, poetry, audiobook narration, reference materials and more, are hand-picked by our expert selection committees that work closely with adult readers. Their tireless efforts narrow down hundreds of finalists to curate the highly regarded “Best of” lists used by librarians, publishers and booksellers nationwide.

List of RUSA Book & Media Awards:

Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction
Notable Books List
Reading List
Listen List: Outstanding Audiobook Narration
Sophie Brody Medal
Dartmouth Medal
Outstanding Reference Sources
BRASS Best of the Best Business Reference Web Resources Award
Outstanding Business Reference Sources
Best Historical Materials


Achievement Awards

The Reference and User Services Association represents librarians and library staff in the fields of reference, specialized reference, collection development, readers’ advisory and resource sharing. RUSA is the foremost organization of reference and information professionals who make the connections between people and the information sources, services, and collection materials they need. 

RUSA’s Achievement Awards Program honors the best in reference librarianship and its many specialties. These awards recognize and honor the outstanding professional contributions and achievements of your RUSA peers. This special recognition by RUSA enhances the sense of personal growth and accomplishment of our members, provides our membership with role models, and strengthens the image of our membership in the eyes of employers, leadership, and the librarianship community as a whole.

List of RUSA Achievement Awards:

RUSA Isadore Gilbert Mudge Award sponsored by Credo
RUSA Margaret E. Monroe Library Adult Services Award sponsored by NoveList
RUSA John Sessions Memorial Award sponsored by Department for Professional Employees, AFL-CIO
RUSA Award for Excellence in Reference and Adult Library Services sponsored by ReferenceUSA
RUSA Gail Schlachter Memorial Research Grant

BRASS Public Librarian Support Award sponsored by Morningstar
BRASS Student Travel Award sponsored by SimplyAnalytics
BRASS Excellence in Business Librarianship Award sponsored by Mergent
BRASS Research Grant Award sponsored by Emerald Publishing
BRASS Academic Business Librarianship Travel Award sponsored by Global Financial Data

CODES Zora Neale Hurston Award sponsored by Harper Collins Publishers
CODES Louis Shores Award

ETS Achievement Award

HS Genealogy / History Achievement Award sponsored by ProQuest
HS Learning History Research and Innovation Award sponsored by Gale Cengage

RSS Service Achievement Award

STARS Virginia Boucher Distinguished ILL Librarian Award sponsored by OCLC
STARS Mentoring Award sponsored by Atlas Systems
STARS Publication Recognition Award



Please view our Achievement Awards and Book and Media Awards at