Donald G. Davis Article Award

Donald G. Davis Article Award

The Donald G. Davis Article Award is presented by the Library History Round Table of the American Library Association every even-numbered year to recognize the best article written in English in the field of United States and Canadian library history. The award honors Donald G. Davis, longtime professor at the School of Information at the University of Texas and editor longtime professor at the School of Information at the University of Texas and editor of Libraries & the Cultural Record (formerly Journal of Library History, Philosophy, and Comparative Librarianship). A major contributor to the field, Dr. Davis has authored numerous history articles, advised many notable Ph.D. dissertations, compiled important bibliographies, and edited both the Encyclopedia of Library History (with Wayne Wiegand) and the Dictionary of American Library Biography, Second Supplement.

For a list of previous winners, click here.

Eligibility and Criteria

Entries for Davis award must have been published during the two years preceding the award year; e.g., articles from 2014 and 2015 may be nominated for the 2016 award.  Entries are judged on quality of scholarship, clarity of style, and depth of research. The round table is particularly interested in articles that place the subject within its broader historical, social, cultural, and political context and make interdisciplinary connections with print culture and information studies. One award will be given every second year unless the jury does not find a suitable candidate for that period. Papers that have won the Justin Winsor or Jesse Shera Awards are not eligible for consideration.

Nominating Process

Any member of the Library History Round Table may nominate one or more articles by sending a recommendation to the Chair of the Davis Award Committee, Andy Huse,, or to the ALA Office of Research and Statistics: Subject line must read: Davis Article Award. Also, the editor of the LHRT Newsletter Library History Bibliography will submit a list of candidates.

Nominations must be sent by January 22, 2016. Receipt will be confirmed within four business days.

If submission by email is not possible, nominations should be sent to:

LHRT: Davis Award Committee
Office of Research and Statistics
American Library Association
50 East Huron Street
Chicago, IL 60611
Fax: (312) 280-4392

Presentation of the Award

The winner will be announced in a press release on or about June 1st of the award year. Certificates honoring the author(s) and journal will be presented at a Library History Round Table awards ceremony during the American Library Association Annual Conference.