Conference Programs


The Conference Programs Committee works to coordinate and execute dynamic programs for ALA conferences. For the current year's programs, please see Programs @ Annual

To serve on this committee, attendance at the ALA Annual Conference is preferred.


Submission Deadline: August 20

Notification of Presentation Approval: September 21

Please submit your proposal at this link:  Learn RT Program Proposal Form - ALA Annual 2017

The Learning Round Table of the American Library Association is seeking proposals for conference programs at the 2017 ALA Annual Conference in Chicago (IL), June 22-27, 2017. The 60-90 minute program should focus on some relevant aspect of staff training and development.

Although not limited to these areas, topics of interest include:

  • Training Design & Development
  • Learning Management Systems
  • Leadership Development
  • Supervisory Training
  • E-Learning
  • Staff Development Plans
  • Mentoring Programs
  • Successful Staff Training Programs
  • Training Best Practices


Presentations will be evaluated according to the following:

  • Useful / practical learning objectives
  • Relevance
  • Originality
  • Content
  • Interactive elements


Deadline: Fill out the form by 5pm (PDT) on August 20.

Proposals must include the following:

  • Brief program description
  • Long program description
  • Learning Objectives
  • Preferred days/times: Saturday or Monday only

Please Note: Speakers will be responsible for registering for the conference and arranging their own travel and lodging.

For any additional questions, send an email to:

Cheryl Wright

Manager, Organizational Learning and Development

The Indianapolis Public Library



Cheryl Sue Wright (Chair, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2019)
Cara V. Barlow (Member, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2018)
John Patrick Butler (Member, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2018)
Cassandra Collucci (Member, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2018)
Mrs. Amy Elizabeth Eiben (Member, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2018)
Angela Glowcheski (Member, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2018)
Andrew Sanderbeck (Member, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2018)
Crystal Schimpf (Member, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2018)
Kimberly L. Redd (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2016, to June 30, 2020)
Lorelle R. Swader (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2016, to June 30, 2020)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2017. Last retrieved on 06/21/2018. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.