Executive Board


The GLBT Round Table is governed by an elected executive board.

The executive board will:

  • provide oversight and long-term planning for the round table, including: goal-setting, programs, projects, activities, and publications;
  • conduct and review all business between membership meetings;
  • carry out  the formal decisions of  membership;
  • review and approve an annual round table budget;
  • report activities to membership through round table communication channels; and
  • make recommendations to membership by all round table communication channels.


Jennifer R. Maguire-Wright (Chair, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2018)
Ana Elisa De Campos Salles (Chair-Elect, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2018)
Elizabeth De Coster (Treasurer, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2019)
Ms. Deb Sica (Past-Chairperson, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2018)
Sukrit Goswami (Secretary, July 20, 2017, to June 30, 2018)
Mr. Matthew P. Ciszek (Director-at-Large, July 1, 2016, to June 30, 2018)
Mr. Trevor A. Dawes (Executive Board Liaison, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2018)
Megan Drake (Director-at-Large, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2019)
Lisa N. Johnston (Director-at-Large, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2019)
Sherry Machones (Director-at-Large, July 1, 2016, to June 30, 2018)
Walter Daniel Walker (Director-at-Large, September 22, 2017, to June 30, 2018)
Ann K. Symons (Round Table Councilor, July 1, 2016, to June 30, 2019)
Jody Gray (Staff Liaison, November 2, 2015, to July 1, 2020)
Briana Jarnagin (Primary Staff Liaison, November 9, 2017, to July 1, 2020)

Displaying active committee roster as of 03/24/2018. Last retrieved on 03/24/2018. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.


Leadership Responsibilities

More about the duties of the board and committee chairs can be found in the GLBTRT Leadership Responsibilities document.

Board Liaisons to GLBTRT Committees

Directors-at-large committee liaison assignments are listed on the Board Committee Liaison Roster.


Use the board contact form to send a message to board membership.  Members can also join the board email list with read only access: GLBTRT Board (Read Only) Electronic Mailing List


  • GLBTRT board meetings are held monthly by conference call.
    • Any ALA members are encouraged to attend.
    • Watch the GLBTRT email list for agendas and conference call information.
  • The board maintains an agenda item parking lot list.  Watch this list to see what the board is working on.  The parking lot also contains information on how to pose an agenda item for a board meeting.


The GLBTRT Executive Board consists of elected officers and directors-at-large.  Board members are elected by the round table membership during ALA elections annual in the Spring.  Officers begin and end terms immediately at the close of ALA Annual Conferences.

The round table elects:

  • a chair annually (serves a three year cycle as: chair-elect; chair; past-chair);
  • a secretary every two years in even-numbered years (two-year term);
  • a treasurer every two years in odd-numbered years (two-year term);
  • directors-at-large annually; (two elected in odd-numbered years and three elected in even-numbered years) (two-year terms);  and
  • a round table councilor every three years (2013, 2016, etc.).


The GLBT Round Table Executive Board began at the close of the 2012 ALA Annual Conference.  During the 2011 ALA election, GLBTRT members adopted bylaws created by the GLBTRT Bylaws & Procedure Manual Ad hoc Committee.  The new language specified a board would become the governing body of the organization, replacing the steering committee.  Amendments to the pre-2011 election bylaws are captured in "Revised 2011 Election" at the bottom of the bylaws page.  Prior to the board, the round table was lead by the GLBTRT Steering Committee.  The committee consisted of elected officers (co-chairs of differing gender identities, treasurer, and secretary) and committee chairs.  The new bylaws took effect at the close of 2011 Annual Conference.  Exceptions to the new bylaws were made in the 2011 Revised Bylaws Implementation Roadmap, which was adopted at the 2011 Membership Meeting.  During that period, the committee consisted of the: chair, chair-elect, immediate past-chair, secretary, treasurer, councilor, and standing committee chairs.  At the close of the 2012 ALA Annual Conference, the steering committee was dissolved, and the GLBTRT Executive Board formed.