2011 PLA Virtual Spring Symposium

2011 PLA Virtual Spring Symposium logo

When School Is Out, The Library Is In

Youth Services Track: Program 1

  • 11:15 AM–12:15 PM EDT
  • 10:15–11:15 AM CDT
  • 9:15–10:15 AM MDT
  • 8:15–9:15 AM PDT

Now more than ever, public libraries are providing vital educational and recreational opportunities for school-age students during out-of-school time. This program will highlight how three different public libraries across the country are innovating, collaborating, and providing meaningful connections for students. Participants will see examples of successful partnerships that leverage resources in new and exciting ways, and will gain fresh inspiration to try out highlighted programs or look at tried and true programs in a new light.

Presenters

Katie O'Dell is the school-age services manager at Multnomah County (Ore.) Library. An active member of ALA, she recently served as the Notable Children's Book Chair as well as the John Newbery Award Chair for ALSC. She previously served on both the Newbery and Randolph Caldecott committees. As an active book discussion facilitator and participant, Katie spends many hours at work and play talking about books.

Andrea Vaughn is the coordinator of Central Library Youth Services at Brooklyn (N.Y.) Public Library. She received her MLS from Long Island University in 1998 and her bachelor’s in multidisciplinary studies from the State University of New York at Stony Brook in 1995. She has worked in both suburban and urban children’s libraries for fifteen years. She is an active member of ALSC, recently serving two years on the Notable Children’s Books Committee. She and her cheerful dog reside in Brooklyn, N.Y.