2011 PLA Virtual Spring Symposium

2011 PLA Virtual Spring Symposium logo

Transforming Life After 50

Adult Services Track: Program 2

  • 3:45–4:45 PM EDT
  • 2:45–3:45 PM CDT
  • 1:45–2:45 PM MDT
  • 12:45–1:45 PM PDT

Join us to explore how "aging" is changing and what this means for both Baby Boomers and public libraries. Hear how libraries are transforming the way they serve and engage this growing population of midlife adults, ages 50+. They changed not only the libraries themselves but also how their communities embraced them!

Presenters

Suzanne Flint is a library programs consultant with the California State Library in Sacramento. Flint has more than 30 years of experience working with nonprofit organizations, government agencies, and private industries as a manager and educator, specializing in health and human development. As the library programs consultant, she has been responsible for designing and implementing several statewide library initiatives. All of Flint’s work focuses on building partnerships and inspiring innovation. She serves on the California Task Force on Youth and Workplace Wellness, representing public libraries and the role they can play in supporting the health of their communities. She has authored several articles and given numerous professional presentations about her work. Flint has an undergraduate degree in political science and human development and a masters in health education.

Stephen Ristau, former president and CEO of four nonprofits, currently provides project consultation, training, and development services to nonprofit organizations through his firm Ristau & Associates. His clients have included Libraries for the Future, the California State Library, Idealist.org, Leadership Greater Hartford, the Multnomah County (Ore.) Vital Aging Task Force, and the Multnomah County Library. His recent work, PurposeWork, focuses on expanding connections between midlife adults ages 50+ and nonprofits for personal and social renewal. Additionally, he wrote "Work and Purpose After 50," a chapter in Boomers and Beyond: Reconsidering the Roles of Libraries (ALA, 2010). He received his MA in human development and family relations from the University of Connecticut, is a trained marriage and family therapist and parent educator, as well as a practicing spiritual director.