2011 PLA Virtual Spring Symposium

2011 PLA Virtual Spring Symposium logo

The Post Recession Library

Administration/Leadership Track: Program 1

  • 2:30–3:30 PM EDT
  • 1:30–2:30 PM CDT
  • 12:30–1:30 PM MDT
  • 11:30 AM–12:30 PM PDT

They say a crisis is a terrible thing to waste. How can libraries and librarians use the economic downturn to reintroduce themselves to their community? How can we restructure libraries and the work of librarians for the future? What entrepreneurial services can a post-recession library offer to their communities suffering from unemployment? This session will talk about conceptual approaches and concrete examples of emerging from the downturn.

Presenter

R. David Lankes is director of the Information Institute of Syracuse, an associate professor in Syracuse University's School of Information Studies, and director of the library science program for the school. Lankes has always been interested in combining theory and practice to create active research projects that make a difference. Past projects include the ERIC Clearinghouse on Information and Technology, the Gateway to Education Materials, AskERIC and the Virtual Reference Desk. Lankes' most recent work involves how participatory concepts can reshape libraries and credibility. This expands his ongoing work to understand the integration of human expertise in information systems.