2011 PLA Virtual Spring Symposium

2011 PLA Virtual Spring Symposium logo

A Mobile Feast: Reaching Library Customers via Mobile Technology

Technology Track: Program 1

  • 11:15 AM–12:15 PM EDT
  • 10:15–11:15 AM CDT
  • 9:15–10:15 AM MDT
  • 8:15–9:15 AM PDT

Library customers have moved beyond asking how to use library resources to telling libraries how they are using the resources. Mobile usage is sharply on the rise, and librarians must recognize the importance of mobile access to library websites and resources as customers quickly adopt new browsing platforms and devices. Mobile technology gives librarians a unique opportunity to reach customers at the point of need, regardless of where those customers may be.

Presenters

Michael Casey is the information technology director for the Gwinnett County (Ga.) Public Library. Named a "Mover & Shaker" by Library Journal in March 2007, he has written and spoken extensively on the subject of modern library services. Casey co-authored (with Laura Savastinuk) Library 2.0: A Guide to Participatory Library Service (2007, Information Today Press) and is a contributor to Library 2.0 and Beyond (2007, Libraries Unlimited). He also co-authored (with Michael Stephens) a monthly column in Library Journal titled "The Transparent Library". An amateur photographer, Michael has published several photos, including in New York: A Photographic Album (2009, Universe).

Michael holds an MLS from Southern Connecticut State, an MA in political science from Pennsylvania State University, and a BA from Duquesne University.

Christopher Baker is the downloadable media and electronic resources selector at Gwinnett County (Ga.) Public Library. He received an MLIS from Valdosta State Universtiy in 2008.