2011 PLA Virtual Spring Symposium

2011 PLA Virtual Spring Symposium logo

Minnesota Library Futures Initiative

Administration/Leadership Track: Program 2

  • 3:45–4:45 PM EDT
  • 2:45–3:45 PM CDT
  • 1:45–2:45 PM MDT
  • 12:45–1:45 PM PDT

What will the library look like in 2025? This is the question that started the Minnesota Library Futures Initiative. The Minnesotan multitype library systems instigated a discussion of this provocative question in the library community, resulting in the Minnesota Library Futures Group. Ann Walker Smalley, a member of the Futures Initiative Steering Committee, will describe how the idea took hold, the process of establishing the Initiative in collaboration with libraries of all types, the Futurists selection process, funding, and more.  Additional participants will describe their process to come up with the vision of libraries in 2025. 

Presenters

Ann Walker Smalley is the director of Minnesota’s Metronet, one of seven state-funded multitype library networks in Minnesota. Metronet focuses its efforts on “fostering greater communication and collaboration among all types of libraries.” Since she joined Metronet, Ann has developed several programs in collaboration with other library systems that reach out to library staff and community to increase the use and understanding of library services and technology. She was one of the founders of the Minnesota Library Futures Initiative and serves on its Executive Steering Committee. She is the author of multiple reports, curriculum, and articles and is a frequent presenter at local, regional, and national conferences. Ann has an MLS from Kent State University.
 
Dillon Young is a senior librarian at Hennepin County (Minn.) Library’s Eden Prairie branch. Before joining the staff at Eden Prairie, he was an adult services librarian at the Brookdale branch in Brooklyn Center, Minnesota and a corporate librarian at a financial services company in Saint Paul. Dillon is passionate about practical and efficient use of technology in the library setting as well as connecting immigrant communities with the library. He is a member of the “MN in 2025” focus area of the Minnesota Library Futurists Group.
 
Jenn Straumann is a Librarian II at Anoka County (Minn.) Library. Her work includes developing and maintaining the library's social media applications, children's, and reference services. She is a recent MLIS graduate from the University of Wisconsin—Milwaukee. Jenn's interests include communicating the value of public libraries, responsive public service, and children's literature. She is a member of the "Marketing & Advocacy" focus group for the Minnesota Library Futurists Group.