2011 PLA Virtual Spring Symposium

2011 PLA Virtual Spring Symposium logo

I Didn’t Know You Could Do That at the Library!

Adult Services Track: Program 1

  • 2:30–3:30 PM EDT
  • 1:30–2:30 PM CDT
  • 12:30–1:30 PM MDT
  • 11:30 AM–12:30 PM PDT

Today’s most forward thinking libraries are expanding their scope of service with an eye to becoming indispensible community assets. Learn about creative community partnerships, resourceful new revenue streams, and extraordinary programs that strive to strategically place the library in the center of the community. Are these innovations the key to our success or are they dangerously outside our core mission? Hear directly from the service pioneers among us.

Presenters

Tracy Strobel is the Deputy Director of the Cuyahoga County (Ohio) Public Library. She leads operations and long term strategies for the 28 branch libraries, the Information Technology Division, the Technical Services Division, the Youth Services Department, and the Adult Services Department. Her primary responsibility is to ensure the highest standard of service to library customers while maintaining a productive and satisfied workforce. Ms. Strobel received her masters of library science from State University of New York at Albany. She joined CCPL in 2005 and has worked in public libraries for fifteen years. Her professional passions include creating and maintaining libraries that offer an exceptional customer experience focused on convenience, an irresistible collection, and a connection to community while being highly efficient both in terms of operations and sustainability. 

Others TBA.