PLA 2011 Virtual Spring Symposium

2011 PLA Virtual Spring Symposium logo

A Fresh Twist on a PLA Classic!

PLA hosted its first-ever Virtual Spring Symposium on March 30, 2011. This day-long, online event offered the premier professional education that PLA's Spring Symposium is known for but in a format more affordable and convenient for attendees.

Moderated by librarian and author Stephanie Gerding, the PLA Virtual Spring Symposium was a full day of rich education with:

  • Eight education programs to choose from
  • Lunchtime interview with author Diane Ackerman
  • Closing session with keynote speakers George Needham and Joan Frye Williams
  • Interactivity—registrants were able to ask questions, chat with other attendees, and follow on Twitter (#PLAVSS11)

Schedule of Events    

Below is the schedule of events at the first-ever PLA Virtual Spring Symposium.

2011 PLA Virtual Spring Symposium Schedule

Time Event
11:00–11:15 AM EDT
10:00–10:15 AM CDT
9:00–9:15 AM MDT
8:00–8:15 AM PDT

Introduction by Audra Caplan, PLA President

11:15 AM–12:15 PM EDT
10:15–11:15 AM CDT
9:15–10:15 AM MDT
8:15–9:15 AM PDT

Track 1:
Technology

A Mobile Feast: Reaching Library Customers via Mobile Technology

Track 2:
Youth Services

When School Is Out, The Library Is In

12:30–1:30 PM EDT
11:30 AM–12:30 PM CDT
10:30–11:30 AM MDT
9:30–10:30 AM PDT

Track 1:
Technology

Can Your Library Provide the Electronic Content That People Want and Need?

Track 2:
Youth Services

Connecting With Teens @ Your Library

1:30–2:30 PM EDT
12:30–1:30 PM CDT
11:30 AM–12:30 PM MDT
10:30–11:30 AM PDT

Lunchtime Author Interview with Diane Ackerman

2:30–3:30 PM EDT
1:30–2:30 PM CDT
12:30–1:30 PM MDT
11:30 AM–12:30 PM PDT

Track 3:
Administrative/Leadership

The Post Recession Library

Track 4:
Adult Services

I Didn’t Know You Could Do That at the Library!

3:45–4:45 PM EDT
2:45–3:45 PM CDT
1:45–2:45 PM MDT
12:45–1:45 PM PDT

Track 3:
Administrative/Leadership

Minnesota Library Futures Initiative

Track 4:
Adult Services

Transforming Life After 50

5:00–6:00 PM EDT
4:00–5:00 PM CDT
3:00–4:00 PM MDT
2:00–3:00 PM PDT

Closing Session

The Sustainable Library



Individual registrants were able to switch between simultaneous tracks to find what suited them best, while registered groups were given a code that enabled them to stream simultaneous tracks at the same time (on two computers) to help their team get the most out of the day.

Contact

Questions? Email us at pla@ala.org or call 800-545-2433 ext. 5PLA (5752).