PLA at the ALA 2012 Annual Conference

ALA 2012 Annual Conference logo

PLA Programs on Sunday, June 24

Sunday, June 24
8:00–10:00 AM

Create and Innovate!: How to Champion Creativity and Innovation in Your Organization

Seek innovation where it lives—your staff! Join the Orange County (Fla.) Library System to learn how they have developed an organizational initiative to tap into the energy, creative spark and passion of staff for thinking “outside the box” and planning for the future. The award winning Innovation Champions team has been created to encourage an environment of ideas and global trendwatching. This group partners with staff throughout the library system to help develop, evaluate, and implement ideas big and small. Hear about the journey of the team; learn how they are harnessing the power of idea sharing, and how to harvest your very own! Add to your schedule (login required) or download to your calendar (via the ALA Annual Conference Scheduler).

Organizer and Speaker: Kelly Pepo, branch manager, Orange County (Fla.) Library System.

Sunday, June 24
10:30 AM–12:00 PM

Advisory Services for the Ebook Era

Today's public libraries have collections far beyond traditional printed books that are the basis of readers' advisory, and a new service model is needed. No longer limiting ourselves to books and readers, this new concept will help serve users in all areas of the public library, using appeal factors to cross formats from fiction to nonfiction, and DVDs to graphic novels. Panelists will cover popular genres including history, crime, science fiction, and romance. Add to your schedule (login required) or download to your calendar (via the ALA Annual Conference Scheduler).

Organizer: Jessica Moyer, University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee, School of Information Studies
Speakers: Kaite Stover, Kansas City (Mo.) Public Library; Christy Donaldson, Utah Valley University Library, Orem, Utah; Katie Dunneback, Library of Congress/National Library Service for the Blind & Physically Handicapped, Washington, D.C.

The Great Non-Fiction Readalike: If You Like This, You’ll LOVE That!

As the popularity of non-fiction reading for pleasure continues to grow, librarians have a great opportunity to grow their reader’s advisory skills. What draws patrons to non-fiction? And what do they want to read next? Based on an annual program of the same name for fiction at Book Expo America, The Great Non-Fiction Readalike: If You Like This, You’ll LOVE That!, this panel of five librarians will cover major trends in popular non-fiction publishing, recommending titles of current interest and with pre-publication buzz—and what off your back list will satisfy your patrons while they’re on hold. Add to your schedule (login required) or download to your calendar (via the ALA Annual Conference Scheduler).

Organizer: Stephanie Chase, head, programming and outreach, Central Library, Multnomah County (Ore.) Library
Speakers: Martha Flotten, Alene Moroni, Anna Mickelson, Robin Nesbitt

Materials Handling Automation to Reduce Operating Costs

What do self check-out machines, self check-in machines, automated sorters, and RFID have in common? One important thing… when selected and implemented correctly, these automated materials handling (AMH) solutions can reduce your library's operating expenses dramatically. Many libraries are digging into capital funds to implement these solutions in order to reduce staffing costs and while this is a sound strategy, it can go bad pretty quickly. This session will focus on AMH procurements including how to evaluate products, ROI and payback strategies, and critical implementation issues. Add to your schedule (login required) or download to your calendar (via the ALA Annual Conference Scheduler).

Organizer and Speaker: Lori Ayre, principal consultant, Galecia Group
Speakers: John J. Callahan III, library director, Palm Beach County (Fla.) Library System; Gretchen L. Freeman, associate director for technology, Salt Lake County (Utah) Library Services; Alan Kirk Gray, chief administrative officer, Darien (Conn.) Library

Sunday, June 24
4:00–5:30 PM

Dangerous Ideas: What if We Took Volunteers Seriously?

Given the library profession’s long history with volunteerism and its increasing reliance on volunteers at all levels of service this panel begins to address the core question “What if we took volunteers seriously?” Speakers will discuss their hands-on experiences with staff and volunteers, as well as the strategic management of volunteer participation. Dr. Bernier will present findings from the first empirical research (conducted by an LIS scholar) on young adult volunteerism and a doctoral student from Germany will present research done on volunteerism in the U.S. from an international perspective. Add to your schedule (login required) or download to your calendar (via the ALA Annual Conference Scheduler).

Organizer: Anthony Bernier, associate professor, San Jose State University
Speakers: Cheryl A. Eberly, principal librarian YA and volunteer services, Santa Ana (Calif.) Public Library; Beate Hoerning, grad student, Humboldt University of Berlin, Germany

The Right Service at the Right Time: E-gov and More Made Easy

Awarded a 2011 ULC Innovation Award, the Right Service at the Right Time is a one-stop service to help those seeking and applying for various forms of public assistance. Developed with open-source software, Orange County (Fla.) Library System’s Right Service at the Right Time is an easy to use discovery engine that can be implemented in any community to match customers with specific resources to meet their needs. Learn how this extremely popular and heavily used statewide project can easily and cheaply be integrated into your community. Add to your schedule (login required) or download to your calendar (via the ALA Annual Conference Scheduler).

Organizer: Donna Bachowski, department manager, Reference Central, Orange County (Fla.) Library System
Speakers: Ryan Price, Ryan Price Media; Josh Fox, reference librarian, Orange County (Fla.) Library System