PLA Leadership Fellows Scholarship Program

PLA’s scholarship program, PLA Leadership Fellows, offered in 2009 and 2010, provided PLA members who are public library managers a chance to attend executive leadership training at some of the best universities in the United States.

Past Recipients


  • Stephanie Chase, Director of the Stowe (Vt.) Free Library
  • Chang Liu, Associate Director of Neighborhood Library Services for the District of Columbia Public Library
  • Denise Lyons, a Library Development Consultant with the South Carolina State Library
  • Jennifer Wright, Assistant Chief in the Materials Management Division at the Free Library of Philadelphia (Penn.)


  • Brian A. Bannon, Chief of Branches for San Francisco (Calif.) Public Library
  • Chris Bates, Senior Manager of Library Experiences at the Public Library of Charlotte and Mecklenburg County (N.C.)
  • Lynn Hoffman, Information Services Coordinator at the Allen County Public Library in Fort Wayne, Ind.
  • Ishwar Laxminarayan, Director of the Jackson District Library in Jackson, Mich.