Charlie Robinson Award

Baker & Taylor logo

Presented by the Public Library Association and Baker & Taylor. To submit a nomination for this award, please visit the PLA Awards Online Application.

Purpose and Criteria

The Charlie Robinson Award honors a public library director who, over a period of seven years, has been a risk taker, an innovator and/or a change agent in a public library. The recipient should have been active in national and other professional associations and be known for developing and implementing programs which are responsive to the need of community residents. The award consists of $1,000 and a gift to the librarian. The public library director will be honored at the ALA Annual Conference. The award was established in 1997.

Only the materials submitted will be considered. They should represent a full portrait of your candidate’s accomplishments. Specific examples of work are useful as is supporting documentation.


Members of the current Charlie Robinson Award Jury are ineligible to receive the Charlie Robinson Award.

2020 Recipient

Rivkah Sass
Library Director/CEO
Sacramento (CA) Public Library

Past Recipients

  • 2019 Clyde Scoles
  • 2018 Mary Anne Hodel
  • 2017 Valerie Gross
  • 2016 Susan Considine
  • 2015 Maxine Bleiweis
  • 2013 Sari Feldman
  • 2012 Pam Sandlian Smith
  • 2010 Patrick Losinski
  • 2009 Donna Nicely
  • 2008 Sharon R. Quay
  • 2007 Sandra Feinberg
  • 2006 Sandra Neerman
  • 2005 Raymond Santiago
  • 2004 Jane Light
  • 2003 Judith Drescher
  • 2002 Gary Strong
  • 2001 Glen Holt
  • 2000 William Ptacek
  • 1999 Ginnie Cooper
  • 1998 Susan Kent

How to Nominate

To submit a nomination for this award, please visit the PLA Awards Online Application.

PLA will forward the nominations to the current chair of the Charlie Robinson Award Jury. PLA reserves the right to extend the application deadline.