2017 PLA Election

Polls Now Open!

One of the benefits of being a PLA member is using the power of your vote to choose the leadership of the organization. In the 2017 PLA election eight nominees will stand for four positions—PLA President, ALA Division Councilor, and two Directors-at-Large. These are crucial leadership roles that will guide PLA into the next several years, ensuring that PLA delivers on its core purpose to strengthen public libraries and their contribution to the communities they serve.

Get to know your candidates and invest in the future of PLA and public libraries by being a part of the 2017 election. Look below for the candidates and click on each name/photo to learn more.

Also, learn more about the ALA Elections and the candidates for ALA President (2018–2019), Loida Garcia-Febo, Terri Grief, and Scott Walter.

Beginning with the 2017 elections, the voting period will run from the first Monday in March through the first Wednesday in April. The 2017 elections opened on March 13, 2017 and will close on April 5, 2017. Results will be announced on April 12. For the 2017 elections, eligible members will be sent their voting credentials via email between March 13–15, 2017. Any individuals whose emails bounce will be sent a “snail-mail” letter with their voting credentials. To be eligible to vote, individuals must be members in good standing of ALA as well as applicable divisions and round tables as of January 31, 2017. Anyone who reinstate their membership after January 31, 2017 will be ineligible to vote in the 2017 elections. For questions about your membership status, please contact ALA’s Member and Customer Service (MACS) at 1-800-545-2433, press 5 (International members should call +1-312-944-6780) or customerservice@ala.org.

Candidates for PLA President (2018–2019)

The PLA President will be elected for a three-year term beginning after 2017 ALA Annual Conference and completed at 2020 ALA Annual Conference, serving one year each as President-Elect (2017–2018), President (2018–2019), and Past-President (2019–2020).

Candidate for PLA President (2018–2019) Sara DallasSara Dallas
Southern Adirondack Library System, Saratoga Springs, N.Y.

Candidate for PLA President (2018–2019) Monique le Conge ZiesenhenneMonique le Conge Ziesenhenne
Palo Alto (Calif.) City Library

ALA Division Councilor

The ALA Division Councilor will be elected for a three-year term beginning after ALA Annual Conference 2017 and completed at ALA Annual Conference 2020.

Candidate for ALA Division Councilor Stephanie ChaseStephanie Chase
Hillsboro (Ore.) Public Library

Candidate for ALA Division Councilor James D. CooperJames D. Cooper
Salt Lake County (Utah) Library

Candidates for Directors-at-Large

There are two available positions for Directors-at-Large, each a three-year term beginning after 2017 ALA Annual Conference and completed at 2020 ALA Annual Conference. Voting PLA members will select one candidate for each position.

1st Position:

Candidate for Director-at-Large Trisha BurnsTrisha Burns
Bay County (Mich.) Library System

Candidate for Director-at-Large Carrie PlymireCarrie Plymire
Calvert (Md.) Library

2nd Position:

Candidate for Director-at-Large Jo GiudiceJo Giudice
Dallas (Tex.) Public Library

Candidate for Director-at-Large Michelle JeskeMichelle Jeske
City Librarian
Denver, Colo.