PLA 2012 Conference Committee


To work with PLA staff to plan and conduct a national conference; to advise on general planning for the conference; to make policy recommendations to the PLA board regarding the conference; to assist in identifying potential major speakers for all conference events; to provide an evaluation report of the conference to the PLA board; to identify areas for potential fundraising and contributions and to work with the president-elect in these efforts; to provide direction and coordination to local arrangements and program subcommittees; to serve as advisors to the PLA communications manager for conference promotion; to assist in conference events and activities as needed.


Karen Danczak-Lyons (Chair, July 1, 2009, to June 30, 2012)
Audra L. Caplan (Member, July 1, 2009, to June 30, 2012)
Ms. Sari Feldman (Member, July 1, 2010, to June 30, 2012)
Marcia A. Warner (Member, July 1, 2010, to June 30, 2012)
Melissa Faubel Johnson (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2009, to June 30, 2012)
Julianna Kloeppel (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2009, to June 30, 2012)
Steven Hofmann (Staff, July 1, 2010, to June 30, 2012)
Barbara A. Macikas (Staff, July 1, 2009, to June 30, 2012)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2011. Last retrieved on 09/26/2016. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.

Public Posts from ALA Connect


All PLA Committees are formed by action of the PLA Board of Directors, which is elected by PLA Members. In 2008, PLA's committees were restructured by a vote of the membership.

The PLA 2012 Conference Committee consists of members appointed from the membership at large serving 2 year terms and led by a chair.



Established at the request of the PLA Board.

Get Involved

To be a thriving, vibrant organization, PLA must have committed and active committee members. If you are interested in serving on a committee, please read and fill out the online volunteer form.

  • Volunteers are accepted on an ongoing basis.
  • Appointments are made by the PLA President and President-Elect, primarily in the spring.
  • Volunteers must be members of ALA and PLA.

Staff Liaison

Melissa Faubel-Johnson
Meeting & Special Events Planner