Teaching Information Literacy with Discovery Tools

 

Discovery tools change the way students search your resources. Have you changed the way you teach information literacy? 
 
Offering the use of a single interface for teaching information literacy, discovery tools free you from the cumbersome necessity of toggling back and forth between multiple screens. Instead you can focus on developing students’ skills with search terms and strategies, simultaneously training them how to use a critical eye while sifting through results.

Learning Outcomes

 

Applicable for teaching one-shot sessions as well as curriculum-embedded instruction, this workshop will show you valuable skills such as:
 
  • How to teach students the unique qualities of discovery tools
  • How to draw from discovery tool features to engage students in evaluating sources
  • The basics of integrating discovery with subject specific databases to scaffold instruction for advanced research and upper-level courses
  • Putting discovery tool instruction into practice immediately with a ready-to-use sample lesson plan, provided to all workshop participants 

Instructor(s)

 

Nancy Fawley is the Head of Gorgas Information Services at The University of Alabama Libraries, where she oversees reference, instruction, and outreach at the main undergraduate library. She is currently the Chair of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Instruction Section Planning Committee.
 
Nikki Krysak is the Head of Instructional Services at Norwich University in Northfield, Vermont, where she leads planning, development, delivery, and assessment of the overall library education program at Kreitzberg Library. She held a leadership role in the Information Literacy Network for the Middle East Gulf Region, where she assisted in fostering the expansion of information literacy and lifelong learning skills in the Middle East. 

Date(s) & Time(s)

This workshop will last 90 minutes and will take place on Wednesday, April 24, 2013 2:30pm Eastern/1:30pm Central/12:30pm Mountain/11:30am Pacific.

Fee

Registration is $55.00 for individuals and $110.00 for groups. Register at the ALA Store: http://www.alastore.ala.org/detail.aspx?ID=4283

How to Register

Register at the ALA Store: http://www.alastore.ala.org/detail.aspx?ID=4283