Introducing RDA with Chris Oliver

RDA: Resource Description and Access  is the new cataloging standard that is replacing the Anglo-American Cataloging Rules (AACR). The March 2013 full implementation by Library of Congress and other national libraries is coming up fast, and libraries are working intensively to familiarize staff, whether they’re going to be simply interacting with records created using RDA or doing original cataloging themselves. In this workshop, Chris Oliver, author of the best-selling Introducing RDA, will give an overview of RDA and look at the key aspects that make RDA different from AACR2. The workshop is designed to provide background for catalogers before they begin RDA training but will also serve as a refresher for those wanting to brush up on their understanding of RDA.

Topics include:

  • Organization of RDA and its key attributes
  • Similarities and differences between RDA and AACR2
  • Basic vocabulary and reasons for the changes
  • Improving resource description and resource discovery

Learning Outcomes

You'll understand the basics of RDA and be prepared to begin the transition.

Instructor(s)

Chris Oliver has worked at the McGill University Library since 1989, as a cataloguing librarian and cataloguing manager. Her current position is Coordinator of Cataloguing and Authorities. She received her M.A. and M.L.I.S. degrees from McGill University. She is the Chair of the Canadian Committee on Cataloguing and has been a member of the Committee since 1997. This has given her the opportunity to be involved with the evolution of RDA from its beginning. She served as a member of the Joint Steering Committee’s Format Variation Working Group and as Chair of the RDA Outreach Group. She has given presentations on RDA in Canada, the United States, and internationally.

Date & Time

The workshop lasts 90 minutes and will take place Wednesday June 13th, 2013 at 2:30pm Eastern/1:30pm Central/12:30 Mountain/11:30am Pacific. 

Fee

Registration is available at both the individual ($60) and group ($120) rates. 

For pricing on bulk registrations in excess of $1,000, please contact us.

How to Register

To register, please visit the ALA Store

Contact

Dan Freeman