Improving Your Library’s Mobile Services

ALA TechSource announces a new workshop featuring Bohyun Kim: Improving Your Library’s Mobile Services. This 90-minute workshop will take place on Thursday, September 12, 2:30pm Eastern/1:30pm Central/12:30pm Mountain/11:30am Pacific.

Making your library’s website and resources more accessible to mobile devices like iPads and Smartphones is essential. But if you’re new to the mobile web, it can be hard to know where to start and what guidelines to follow. In this workshop, Bohyun Kim will show you how to understand the mobile web with an eye towards expanding your library’s mobile services.

After completing this workshop, you’ll understand the difference between the mobile web and the desktop web, the basic components of a library mobile website and how the mobile web has evolved in the last 2-3 years. You will be able to critically review and assess the efficacy of a given library mobile website, identify issues, and create strategies for improvement.

Topics include:

  • The significance of the mobile web for libraries
  • How the mobile web has changed library user behavior
  • Current mobile library practices
  • Best practices for building a mobile presence and bringing your library up-to-date
  • Engaging in marketing, outreach and content-building on the mobile web

Instructor(s)

Bohyun Kim is the Digital Access Librarian at Florida International University Medical Library in Miami, FL. She has particular interests in library innovation and emerging technologies and has worked in web services, e-resources management, digitization, reference, and instructional technologies. She blogs at Library Hat and can be found at@bohyunkim in Twitter. She was a 2011 American Library Association Emerging Leader sponsored by LITA and received the 2013 ACRL Librarian Scholarship and the 2011 Code4Lib Minority Scholarship. She holds a MSLIS from Simmons College and a MA in classical philosophy from Harvard University and currently serves as the founding editor of ACRL TechConnect blog and the Outreach Director of ALA New Members Roundtable. (http://www.bohyunkim.net/blog/about)

Date(s) & Time(s)

The workshop takes place on Thursday, September 12, 2:30pm Eastern/1:30pm Central/12:30pm Mountain/11:30am Pacific. The session will last 90 minutes.

Fee

Registration is $60 for individuals and $120 for groups

How to Register

Registration for this ALA TechSource Workshop is available on the ALA Store. Registration is available at both individual and group rates.