Harnessing Free Content with Web Service APIs

ALA TechSource announces a new workshop featuring Jason Paul Michel: Harnessing Free Content with Web Service APIs. This 90-minute workshop will take place on Thursday, August 1, 2:30pm Eastern/1:30pm Central/12:30pm Mountain/11:30am Pacific.

Nowadays, people often go to the web rather than the library for information. But all is not lost. The web ecosystem thrives on openness and sharing. Learn how to use APIs (application programming interfaces), and your library will both deliver and receive content from larger, highly used services as Twitter, Vimeo, or Instagram. In this introductory workshop, Jason Paul Michel, author of Web Service APIs and Libraries, will explain how APIs work, what’s involved in implementing them, and why they are important. 

You will learn about:

  • How other libraries are using APIs, with examples.
  • What resources are necessary to implement and maintain APIs
  • The skills you need to get started and resources for developing them.
  • APIs from libraryland, such as WorldCat, LibraryThing, and EBSCO

Instructor(s)

Jason Paul Michel currently serves as the User Experience (UX) Librarian at Miami University in Oxford, Ohio. He received his MSLIS from Simmons College in Boston, MA. Michel’s work centers around usability, emerging technologies, UX and web design, and instruction.  He has engineered various API-driven projects and has presented on these at several national library conferences. He is author of Web Service APIs and Libraries (ALA Editions, 2012) and was named a 2013 "Mover & Shaker" by Library Journal.

Date(s) & Time(s)

The workshop takes place on Thursday, August 1, 2:30pm Eastern/1:30pm Central/12:30pm Mountain/11:30am Pacific. The session will last 90 minutes.

Fee

Registration is $55 for individuals; $110 for groups

How to Register

Registration for this ALA TechSource Workshop is available on the ALA Store. Registration is available at both individual and group rates.