Handy Tech Tools for Library Outreach

 

Solid social media standbys like Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram are a good start. But you could be overlooking other free or low-cost web-based tools that have the potential to save time while boosting your library’s outreach.  In this fun, informative workshop librarian and academic technology coordinator Sarah Ludwig looks closely at tech tools both new and old. She’ll give a guided tour of the possibilities and limitations of these tools, including:
  • Ways to freshen up your social media outreach with creative uses of Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest
  • What new tools such as Scoop.it, Learnist, Weebly, and Branch can do for you
  • How to use Twitter to highlight new acquisitions and resources
  • How to draw attention to your programs by choosing the right tool for your audience
  • Understanding your options and planning strategically 

Instructor(s)

Sarah Ludwig is the Library Department Chair and Academic Technology Coordinator at Hamden Hall Country Day School, Conn. and former teen and reference librarian at Darien Library. She is an instructor for Simmons College’s continuing education program and has spoken at both local and national conferences. Author of Starting from Scratch: Building a Teen Library Program, she blogs for ALA TechSource and writes for VOYA’s Tag Team Tech Column. She was selected as an ALA Emerging Leader in 2010.

Date(s) & Time(s)

This 90-minute workshop takes place on  Wednesday, June 19, 2:30pm Eastern/1:30pm Central/12:30pm Mountain/11:30am Pacific

Fee

Registration is $55.00 for individuals and $110.00 for groups, and is available at http://www.alastore.ala.org/detail.aspx?ID=4396

How to Register

Registration is available at http://www.alastore.ala.org/detail.aspx?ID=4396