State IFC Chair Roster

The American Library Association has affiliate relationships with state library associations in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, Guam, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and regional library associations in the Mountain Plains, New England, Pacific Northwest, and Southeast regions. Each state chapter is represented by an elected Chapter Councilor with full voting rights in ALA’s governing assembly. The interests of Chapters are represented within the association by the Chapter Relations Office and the Chapter Relations Committee.

AASL, a division of ALA, is connected to state-level school library media associations via its Affiliate Assembly.

Below is roster of the state and regional library associations Intellectual Freedom Committee chairs, along with the chairs of intellectual freedom committees for AASL affiliates. Please keep the ALA Office for Intellectual Freedom informed by sending your notification of being the new state IFC chair or change of email address information to Kristin Pekoll (, as soon as possible. 


New England Southeastern Alabama  Alaska  Arizona  Arkansas  California  Colorado  Connecticut  Delaware  District of Columbia  Florida  Georgia  Hawaii  Idaho  Illinois  Indiana  Iowa  Kansas  Kentucky  Louisiana  Maine  Maryland  Massachusetts  Michigan  Minnesota  Mississippi  Missouri  Montana  Nebraska  Nevada  New Hampshire  New Jersey  New Mexico  New York  North Carolina  North Dakota  Ohio  Oklahoma  Oregon  Pennsylvania  Rhode Island  South Carolina  South Dakota  Tennessee  Texas  Utah  Vermont  Virginia  Washington  West Virginia   Wisconsin  Wyoming


New England Library Association

Joanna M. Breen; Belmont Public Library; jbreen at [updated 8/14/2015]

New England School Library Association

Irene Kwidzinski; NESLA President; nesla1918 at [updated 2/19/15]


Southeastern Library Association (SELA)

Michael Mounce, Reference/Instruction Services Librarian and Associate Professor of Library Services, Roberts-LaForge Library, Delta State University, Cleveland, MS 38733; (662) 846-4457; mmounce at


Alabama Library Association

Dana L. Hettich, General Reference Librarian, UAB - Sterne Library, 917 13th St. S, Birmingham, AL 35205; (205) 934-6364; dhettich at Term: May 1, 2014-May 1, 2015

Alabama Instructional Media Association

Annalisa Crews, Homewood High School, 1901 Lakeshore Drive South, Homewood, AL 52209; (205) 871-6882, ext. 1267; acrews at or a.crews at


Alaska Library Association

Michael Robinson, University of Alaska-Anchorage, 3211 Providence Dr., Anchorage, AK 99508; (907) 786-1001; mcrobinson at


Arizona Library Association

Richard DiRusso; Pima County Public Library; richard.dirusso at [updated 5/11/15]


Arkansas Library Association and Arkansas Association of School Librarians

Freddy Hudson; Branch Manager; Fletcher Library - CALS fhudson at [updated 2/26/15]


California Library Association

Melanie Lightbody; Butte County Librarian; Butte County Library MLightbody at  [updated 6/9/15]

California School Library Association

Jill Sonnenberg, jsonnenberg at


Colorado Association of Libraries

Leonardo Arellano, UC Boulder - Norlin Library, arellano.leonardo26 at

Colorado Association of School Librarians

Jody Howard, jodyhoward at


Connecticut Library Association

Kara Gilbert, Henry Carter Hull Library, Kara at [updated 7/7/15]

Connecticut Association of School Librarians

Michelle Luhtala; luhtala.michelle at [updated 2/18/15]


Delaware Library Association

Margery Cyr, Dover Public Library, 35 Loockerman Plaza, Dover, DE 19901; (302) 736-7032; Fax: (302) 736-5087; Margery.Cyr at


District of Columbia Library Association

Julius Jefferson Jr. Vice-President of District of Columbia Library Association; dclavicepresident at [updated 2/18/15]

District of Columbia Association of School Librarians

André Maria Taylor, divalibrarian2 at


Florida Library Association

Sara Gonzalez, Regional Branch Manager, Seminole County Leisure Services Department sgonzalez at [updated 2/26/15]

Florida Association for Media in Education

Pat Franklin, Timber Creek High School, Orlando, FL; Patricia.franklin at


Georgia Library Association

Andrea Stanfield; University of West Georgia; andrea.stanfield at [updated 2/18/15]

Georgia Library Media Association

Valerie Ayer, Dekalb Professional Library, DeKalb County Schools, 1701 Mountain Industrial Blvd., Stone Mountain, GA 30083; (678) 676-2433; Valerie_ayer at [updated 2/18/15]


Hawaii Library Association

Andrew Wertheimer, Associate Professor & LIS Program Chair, University of Hawaii at Manoa, 2550 McCarthy Mall, Honolulu, HI 96822-2233; (808) 956-7321; Fax: (808) 956-5835; wertheim at


Idaho Library Association

Eric Suess, Director, Marshall Public Library, 113 S. Garfield Ave., Pocatello, ID 83204-3235; (208) 232-1263 x101; esuess at


Illinois Library Association

Melissa Rice, Head of Adult Services, Frankfort Public Library District, Frankfort, IL; (815) 534-6177; mrice at

Illinois School Library Media Association

Megan Cusick, mcusick at [updated 2/18/15]


Indiana Library Federation

Evan Davis, Librarian, Business, Science, and Technology Department, Allen County Public Library, Fort Wayne, IN 46802; (260) 421-1215;  edavis at


Iowa Library Association and Iowa Association of School Librarians

Michael Wright, Director, Dubuque County Library; michaelw at [updated 4/24/15]


Kansas Library Association

Melanie Miller, Hays Public Library, mmiller at

Kansas Association of School Librarians

Desirée Moore; Goddard High School Library Media Specialist; dmoore at [updated 2/18/15]


Kentucky Library Association

Fannie M. Cox, University of Louisville - Ekstrom Library, fmcox at

Kentucky School Media Association

Michelle Lemmon, School Media Specialist, Model Lab School, Eastern Kentucky University, michelle.lemmon at


Louisiana Library Association

Rebecca Day Carl, rcarl at [updated 2/18/15]

Louisiana Association of School Librarians

Kristy Sturm; LASL President; kasturm at


Maine Library Association

Jim Campbell, Modular Media, modmedia at

Maine Association of School Libraries

Gretchen Asam; School Librarian; Presque Isle High School; asamg at [updated 2/18/15]


Maryland Library Association

Monica McAbee, Prince George's County Memorial Library System; monica.mcabee at [updated 2/19/15]


Massachusetts Library Association

Jacqueline Rafferty, Library Director, Paul Pratt Memorial Library, jrafferty at [updated 3/3/15]

Diane Annunziato, Senior Reference Librarian, M.G. Parker Memorial Library; dannunziato at [updated 3/3/15]

Massachusetts School Library Association

Kathy Lowe, Executive Director, Massachusetts School Library Association, klowe at


Michigan Library Association

Cindy Lou Poquette, Indian River Area Library, indriv1 at

Michigan Association for Media in Education

Martha J. Spear; Library Media Specialist; Berkley High School; [updated 2/25/15]


Minnesota Library Association

Maureen Gormley; Dakota County Library; maureen.gormley at; (651) 450-2938 [updated 2/18/15]

Information and Technology Educators of Minnesota

Doug Johnson; doug0077 at  [updated 2/19/15]


Mississippi Library Association

Sheila Cork; 228-467-6836; scork at


Missouri Library Association

Robert Hallis, Ph.D., Associate Professor: Instructional Design Librarian, University of Central , James C. Kirkpatrick Library; hallis at

Missouri Association of School Librarians

Linda Weatherspoon; bks2rd at


Montana Library Association

Judy Hart; Lewis and Clark Library; jhart at [updated 5/11/15]


Nebraska Library Association

Todd Schlechte; Library Specialist; W. Dale Clark Main Library; tschlechte at  [updated 5/20/15]

Nebraska Educational Media Association

Lora Leibrandt, lora.leibrandt at


Nevada Library Association

Katherine Rankin; Discovery Services Department, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas; (702) 895-2224; katherine.rankin at [updated 2/18/15]

Nevada School and Children Librarians' Section

Shar Murphy; Librarian; The Honors Academy of Literature; ms.shar at [updated 2/19/15]


New Hampshire Library Association

Gail Zachariah; Keene Public Library; gzachariah at [updated 8/10/15]

New Hampshire School Library Media Association

Angie Miller; Librarian; Inter-Lakes Jr/Sr High Library; angie.miller at [updated 2/19/15]


New Jersey Library Association

Pierre S. Rosen; Head of Reference; Rockaway Township Library pierre.s.rosen at [updated 7/9/15]

New Jersey Association of School Librarians

Dee Ann Venuto; Media Center Coordinator, Rancocas Valley High School, deeannvenuto at [updated 2/19/15]


New Mexico Library Association

Val Nye; Library Director of the Institute of American Indian Arts; vnye at [updated 7/7/15]


New York Library Association

Jennifer Bollerman; Longwood Public Library, jennifer at [updated 6/1/15]


North Carolina Library Association

David Trudeau, North Carolina Library Association, trudeaud88 at [updated 2/26/15]

North Carolina School Library Media Association

Meredith Hill; Media Coordinator; Creekside Elementary School; hillm at [updated 2/19/15]


North Dakota Library Association

Rita Ennen, Library Director, Dickinson Area Public Library, [updated 2/26/15]

North Dakota Library Association, School Library and Youth Services Section

Christine Kujawa, ckujawa at


Ohio Library Council

Andrew Harant; Cuyahoga County Public Library, Maple Heights Branch; aharant at

Ohio Educational Library Media Association

Debra Kay Logan, Librarian/Media Specialist, Mount Gilead, OH; jd3logan at


Oklahoma Library Association

Leanne Cheek; Pioneer Library System; (405) 801-4581; [updated 2/19/15]

Oklahoma School Librarians

Catharine Cook, cathcook at


Oregon Library Association

Roberta Richards, PCC Sylvania Library, rrichard at

Garnetta Wilker, retired school librarian; gkwilker2 at

Oregon Association of School Libraries

Miranda Doyle; Teacher-Librarian; Lake Oswego School District; [updated 2/19/15]


Pennsylvania Library Association

Marycatherine McGarvey; Director, Free Library of Springfield Township; (215) 836-5300; mmcgarvey at [updated 2/18/15]

Pennsylvania Association of School Libraries

Ilene Goldis-Grayev, Librarian, Radnor High School, ilene.goldis at


Rhode Island Library Association

Jim Kinnie, Associate Professor, University of Rhode Island Library, jkinnie at

Carla M. Weiss, Reference Dept., Rhode Island College, cweiss at

Rhode Island Educational Media Association

Jillian Waugh, jwaugh3 at


South Carolina Library Association

Michelle Sellars, Manager of Digital Content, College of Charleston Libraries, (843) 953-8232; sellarsmh at

South Carolina Association of School Librarians

Lorena Swetnam, School Librarian, Blythewood Middle School, lorena.gaviria at


South Dakota Library Association and the School Library Media Section

Todd Quinn, Reference Services Coordinator, Northern State University, todd.quinn at


Tennessee Library Association

Annie Herlocker (co-chair), annie at

Anthony Prince (co-chair), Cataloging Manager, Brown-Daniel Library, Tennessee State University, aprince1 at

Tennessee Association of School Librarians

Brian Seadorf; Library Media Specialist; Blackman High School; seadorfb at [updated 2/19/15]


Texas Library Association

Alex Simons; University of Houston; acsimons at [updated 8/14/15]

Texas Association of School Librarians

Gloria Meraz; Director of Communications; Texas Library Association; gloriam at [updated 2/19/15]

Carrye Syma; Associate Librarian; Texas Tech University Libraries; carrye.syma at [updated 3/3/15]


Utah Library Association

Wanda Mae Huffaker; 801-944-7551 ; whuffaker at


Vermont Library Association

Ray Brior, Willey Library & Learning Center, Johnson State College, Raymond.Brior at

Vermont School Library Association

Christine Eldred, Missisquoi Valley Union Middle & High School Library, celdred at


Virginia Library Association

Shari Henry; Arlington Public Library; Shenry at [updated 6/1/15]

Virginia Association of School Librarians

Sabrina Carnesi, sabrina.carnesi at


Washington Library Association

Ann Crewdson, Issaquah Library, crewdson at

Washington Library Media Association

Bob Koreis, robertkoreis at


West Virginia Library Association

Yvonne Farley, yfarley at [updated 4/1/15] 

West Virginia Library Association - School Division

Majed Khader, khader at MARSHALL.EDU


Wisconsin Library Association

Kristina Gomez, Milwaukee Public Library; KLGomez at [updated 2/18/15]

Wisconsin Educational Media & Technology Association

Brionne Roberts-Bray; Library Media Specialist; Parkside School; if at [updated 4/24/15]


Wyoming Library Association

Carey Hartmann, Laramie County Library System; chartmann at [updated 2/28/15]