Office for Intellectual Freedom

50 East Huron Street
Chicago, IL 60611
(312) 280-4223
Fax: (312) 280-4227


Established December 1, 1967, the Office for Intellectual Freedom is charged with implementing ALA policies concerning the concept of intellectual freedom as embodied in the Library Bill of Rights, the Association’s basic policy on free access to libraries and library materials.


The goal of the office is to educate librarians and the general public about the nature and importance of intellectual freedom in libraries.

Social Networking

Check OIF out on Twitter and Facebook, and our videos on You Tube

To learn more about intellectual freedom issues related to social networking, see our online social networks page.  See also OIF's Podcasts and Videos page.


Barbara M. Jones
312.280.4222; 800.545.2433, ext. 4222

Deborah Caldwell-Stone
Deputy Director
312.280.4224; 800.545.2433, ext. 4224

Kristin Pekoll
Assistant Director
312.280.4221; 800.545.2433, ext. 4221

Nanette Perez
Program Officer
312.280.4225; 800.545.2433, ext. 4225

Jonathan Kelley
Program Officer
312.280.4226; 800.545.2433, ext. 4226

Shumeca Pickett
Administrative Assistant
312.280.4220; 800.545.2433, ext. 4220

In Memoriam

Judith Krug, director of the ALA Office for Intellectual Freedom since its founding in 1967, passed away on April 11, 2009. Her achievements in the fight against censorship were unparalleled.  For more on her life and accomplishments, visit "Press Releases about Judith Krug". To read how her friends, colleagues, and co-workers have paid tribute to her, see "Remembering Judith".  A number of State Chapters have passed resolutions honoring Judith Krug.  To see the list, visit "Chapters Honoring Judith".