IRC - Humphry/OCLC/Forest Press Award Jury Subcommittee

Purpose: The John Ames Humphry/OCLC/Forest Press Award for a significant contribution to international librarianship consists of a prize of $1,000 and a certificate. The award is made to a librarian or other person who has made significant contributions to international librarianship, but primary consideration will be given to contributions in the field of classification and subject analysis, and to work in Third World countries. Created on the occasion of the retirement of John Humphry as Executive Director of Forest Press, publisher of the Dewey Decimal Classification, the award recognizes Humphry's far-ranging work to internationalize the English-language editions of Dewey and to ensure that translations were adapted to meet the needs of other cultures and countries.

Humphry/OCLC/Forest Press Award Website

Number of members: up to five

Terms of office: two years

Term limits: two years (no reappointment possible)


Committee Members:

Majed Khader, Ph.D. (Chair, 2012 - 2013)
Professor & Director of the Morrow Library
University Libraries
Marshall University


Elizabeth E. Cramer, Ph.D. (2012-2013)
Lead Catalog Librarian
Appalachian State University

Jamie Luedtke (2012 - 2013)
Assistant Director of Advancement--University Library
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign



Committee Roster ( Full contact information and roster requires log in)


Back to IRC