Search

Search results

  1. American Library Association announces 2014 youth media award winners

    Macey Morales ALA Media Relations mmorales@ala.org PHILADELPHIA — The American Library Association (ALA) today announced the top books, video and audio books for children and young adults – including the Caldecott, Coretta Scott King, Newbery and Printz a ...

    JCARMICHAEL - 01/29/2014 - 13:34 - News & Press Center

  2. ALA announces Libraries Transforming Communities Public Innovator Cohort grant opportunity

    Mary Davis Fournier Deputy Director mfournier@ala.org Public libraries invited to apply by March 6 to receive $8,000 grant and 18 months of professional development in community engagement CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA) Public Programs O ...

    brussell3 - 01/22/2014 - 09:08 - News & Press Center

  3. 2014 ALA Annual Conference registration and housing now open

    Alicia Babcock ALA Conference Registration ababcock@ala.org CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA) promises the same outstanding content, professional development and networking opportunities as always at the 2014 Annual Conference, June 26-July ...

    MMACKAY - 01/22/2014 - 09:07 - News & Press Center

  4. A guide to biographies to read aloud with kids

    Rob Christopher Marketing Coordinator rchristopher@ala.org CHICAGO — The right biography can be as enthralling as any work of fiction, blending facts with gripping storytelling. “ Biographies to Read Aloud with Kids: From Alvin Ailey to Zishe the Strongma ...

    RCHRISTOPHER - 04/14/2014 - 10:37 - News & Press Center

  5. ALA to participate in IMLS hearing on libraries and broadband

    Jazzy Wright Press Officer jwright@alawash.org WASHINGTON, D.C.—On Thursday, April 17, 2014, from 9:30–11:30 a.m., leaders from the American Library Association (ALA) will participate in “ Libraries and Broadband: Urgency and Impact,” a public hearing hos ...

    JWRIGHT - 04/14/2014 - 15:36 - News & Press Center

  6. Nawar wins United for Libraries/SAGE Academic Friend Conference Grant

    Jillian Kalonick Marketing/Public Relations Specialist jkalonick@ala.org PHILADELPHIA — United for Libraries has awarded the 2014 United for Libraries/SAGE Academic Friend Conference Grant to Essraa Nawar of Leatherby Libraries, Chapman University, Orange ...

    JKALONICK - 04/11/2014 - 14:22 - News & Press Center

  7. Privacy All Year Round: Choose Privacy Week, May 1 – 7, 2014

    Deborah Caldwell-Stone Deputy Director dstone@ala.org CHICAGO – Each year on May 1, librarians, library users and privacy advocates come together to observe Choose Privacy Week- an annual event promoting the importance of individual privacy rights.  But p ...

    SZALUSKY - 04/11/2014 - 13:44 - News & Press Center

  8. New date and format for Michael L. Printz Program and Reception

    Jaclyn Finneke Communications Manager jfinneke@ala.org CHICAGO — Booklist Publications and The Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), are proud to announce a new date and format for the Mich ...

    JFINNEKE - 04/11/2014 - 16:05 - News & Press Center

  9. ALA unveils shortlist for 2014 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction

    Macey Morales Media Relations Manager mmorales@ala.org CHICAGO —The American Library Association (ALA) today announced the six books shortlisted for the prestigious Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction. The medals are awarded fo ...

    JCARMICHAEL - 04/09/2014 - 13:53 - News & Press Center

  10. LLAMA webinar explores new digital media commons

    Fred Reuland LLAMA Continuing Education Program Officer freuland@ala.org CHICAGO — The age of the digital media commons has arrived, leaving in its wake yesterday’s traditional academic library.   But how do library planners begin to make this dramatic tr ...

    FREULAND - 04/09/2014 - 09:23 - News & Press Center

Pages